ComputerForum.com ComputerForum.com  

Go Back   Computer Forum > General Chat > Off Topic Chat

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-30-2008, 03:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Diamond Member
 
newguy5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dallas, Tx
Age: 26
Posts: 1,931
Default paypal scam

So long story but basically I bought a brand new zune and am selling the used on I picked up because I needed good headphones and the best ones I found were actually zune phones that come with the new zune, but were otherwise $50 by themselves. So cost wise it was more intelligent to buy the new 80gb zune for $250 and get the $50 headphones included than to keep the $100 used 30gb zune and spend another $50 on the headphones. Anyway, I'm selling it on craigslist and this is an email I get about it…not sure how, but people have found a way to screw you through paypal. Probably cause it's a phishing paypal site instead of the actual paypal site. Crazy...

Quote:
Thanks for the reply,my name is katty,I am really interested in buyingn this item ..Am buying this item for someone else....I will add $100.00 USD for the shipping cost.....making $220....I will make the payment through my PayPal account cos is very secure,easy and Fastest to receive money.....Kindly send me your PayPalemail so that i can send the payment..
Hope to hear from you here again...

Katty...

On 6/30/08, Evan Talk <Evan.Talk@colemont.com> wrote:
> yes, it is still available.
> ________________________________
>
> From: Katty weatherly [mailto:katty.weatherly01@gmail.com]
> Sent: Sun 6/29/2008 2:25 PM
> To: sale-734556752@craigslist.org
> Subject: DO YOU STILL HAVE IT AVAILABLE F:S 30gb Black Zune - Perfect
> Condition - $120 (Dallas)
>
>
> ** CRAIGSLIST ADVISORY --- AVOID SCAMS BY DEALING LOCALLY
> ** Avoid: wiring money, cross-border deals, work-at-home
> ** Beware: cashier checks, money orders, escrow, shipping
> ** More Info: http://www.craigslist.org/about/scams.html
>
>
> DO YOU STILL HAVE IT AVAILABLE F:S
>
>
> ________________________________
>
> this message was remailed to you via: sale-734556752@craigslist.org
__________________
C2D E6750
Arctic Freezer 7 Pro
2GB G.Skill RAM PC2-6400
Gigabyte P35-DS3L
Sapphire Radeon 3850
250GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10
Thermaltake TR2 500W
22" Westinghouse (widescreen)
newguy5 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-30-2008, 05:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Newcastle-England-uk
Age: 27
Posts: 2,231
Default

yeh ive had 4 emails for my ebay account which has been inactive for 4yrs-

they say that there has been a problem with my paypal transaction and for me to log on. obviously to give them my details so they can screw my account

they need to get a life
__________________
q6600@3.4ghz-asus rampage formula-2x2gig 1066mhz kingston-maxitor 500gig-gainward hd4850 (crossfire)-corsair tx750watt psu-sony/nec dvd rw-antec1200-swiftech pump/rad-blue coolant-
2x"19 widescreen acer monitors
funkysnair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 12:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Diamond Member
 
cohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 15
Posts: 8,360
Default

that is a spam e-mail, i get them as well.
__________________
Cohen
cohen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 12:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Age: 15
Posts: 1,612
Default

She doesn't mention the item's name, shipping doesn't cost $100, and she has a generic email. Scam.
Sir Travis D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Paypal scam? whats going on. NEED HELP raboyto2 Computer Security 10 01-09-2007 05:38 PM
Is this another Paypal Scam? Primex Internet Discussion 4 04-23-2006 06:10 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.0 ©2009, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright © 2002-2009 Computer Forum - TechZine - Web Design Forum