ComputerForum.com ComputerForum.com  
Go Back   Computer Forum > Computer Software > Operating Systems

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2005, 02:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Default Downloadable Windows?

Hey guys, I was searching the internet for some good prices on a Windows XP Pro edition and came across this link. www.softweight.com It has downloadable versions of Windows XP Pro for 50 bucks, but it seems kinda sketch to me. I was wondering if anyone has ever heard of doing that before and whether or not its worth it.
aboynamedmatt is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-18-2005, 02:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
VIP Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Age: 22
Posts: 6,033
Default

doesnt seem legit to me
__________________
C2D E6300 @ 2.6Ghz
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2GB DDR2 667
1TB (1x500GB 2x250GB HDD)
BFG 8800GTS 320MB


PFC Til I Die
elmarcorulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 02:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Default

yeah ive never heard of anything like that before
aboynamedmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 01:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Ya, me either but, Honestly if i was to dl it online, and i dont mean to offend anyone but you can use bearshare limewire kazaa to dl a cracked version of windows free, cracked: you dont have to enter any serials.

JordanHus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 03:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Cromewell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 25
Posts: 10,417
Default

It can't possibly be legit, $59.95 for Exchange Server Professional 2003? I know you asked about WinXP but there's no way.
__________________

You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with 'til ya understand who's in command here.

www.userfriendly.org
Cromewell is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-18-2005, 03:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Gold Member
 
Sebouh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 477
Default

I don't see why not, if you read their section on FAQ i think ulll see that it is legit.
the bad thing is that u wont be able to get technical support from the manufacturers...
the good thing is that u can save up to 300$.
__________________
sbho

Last edited by Sebouh; 05-18-2005 at 03:35 PM.
Sebouh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 03:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Cromewell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 25
Posts: 10,417
Default

Weather it comes with a manual or not, you can't buy an exchange server liscense for $60
__________________

You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with 'til ya understand who's in command here.

www.userfriendly.org
Cromewell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 03:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Gold Member
 
Sebouh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 477
Default

well i found one, Maya, where u save 7000$, now that's something...
__________________
sbho
Sebouh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 03:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Cromewell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 25
Posts: 10,417
Default

Quote:
Why is the software so inexpensive?
We offer the software for downloading only, it means that you do not receive a fancy package, a printed manual and license that actually aggregate the largest part of the retail price. In this situation we are restricted in selling the products for private purposes only! You will not be able to get a technical support and different rebates from the manufacturer. Updates are available for the most of our products (you may ask our support staff for the exceptions) that make them fully functional and operating. Additionally you save the delivery cost.
The manual, package and printed license can't be worth the discounts (the big price tags are for the license, the 'right' to use the software). A few of these packages I understand using for personal use but Windows 2003 Enterprise Server or Exchange Server 2003 Enterprise? Neither of these are 'personal' operating systems. I think they must be selling unlicensed(illegal) software, but you can make your own choice.
__________________

You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with 'til ya understand who's in command here.

www.userfriendly.org
Cromewell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 08:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
VIP Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Concord, NH
Age: 20
Posts: 27,447
Default

doesnt seem legit to me either, maybe they just buy one version of it, and give a copy of that to everyone. I wouldnt do it.
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.1GHz
Asus Rampage Formula X48
ATI 4870X2 2GB GDDR5 (800/1900)
4GB (2x 2GB) DDR2 960 (6-6-6-18)
750GB SATAII w/32MB
Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
SilverStone 750W +12V@60A
3DMark06:
22605
[-0MEGA-] is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0 ©2008, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright © 2002-2008 Computer Forum and Web Design Forum