ComputerForum.com ComputerForum.com  

Go Back   Computer Forum > Computer Software > Computer Security

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2012, 10:10 PM   #1
VIP Member
 
spirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Norwich, UK
Age: 15
Posts: 10,586
Default Cooler Master's website is distributing malware??

I was trying to view the latest page in the New Toy thread, when I got this:



I doubt Cooler Master's website is distributing malware, but is anybody else getting this on Google Chrome?

I hope this is in the right forum sub-section by the way, I wasn't sure where to post it.
__________________
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Core i5 2500K @ 4.3 | Arctic Cooling Freezer 13
16GB RipJaws-X 1648MHz
Sapphire HD 5870
OCZ Vertex 4 128GB | WD Green 2TB
Samsung Blu-Ray ROM | OCZ ZS 650W | NZXT Lexa S
Windows 8 Enterprise x64
VMs: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64, Vista Ultimate SP2 x64

Let the beast run! Benchmark your system. You can do it here!

Last edited by spirit; 12-28-2012 at 10:12 PM.
spirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 10:13 PM   #2
Malware and Spam Assassin

 
johnb35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Morris, Illinois
Age: 42
Posts: 25,320
Default

Most likely one of the ads that are displayed on the page you were loading triggered chrome to go off. It has happened a few times in the past.
__________________
MB - Gigabyte 970A-UD3 || CPU - FX8350|| PSU - Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W || Memory - Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 || GPU - Sapphire HD6870 1GB || HDD's - 500GB SATA III WD Caviar Black, 64gb SATA III Crucial SSD, 120GB Corsair Force 3 SSD|| Monitor - ASUS VE278Q Black 27" 1920x1080 2ms Full HD HDMI LED Backlight || OS - Dual boot XP and 7 || Case - Cooler Master HAF 912 || Cpu cooler - CM Hyper 212 Plus
johnb35 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 10:14 PM   #3
VIP Member
 
spirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Norwich, UK
Age: 15
Posts: 10,586
Default

OK, thank you for the quick reply John. I just tried to visit coolermaster.co.uk and Chrome blocks it again. :/ So it could be an ad on their site.
__________________
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Core i5 2500K @ 4.3 | Arctic Cooling Freezer 13
16GB RipJaws-X 1648MHz
Sapphire HD 5870
OCZ Vertex 4 128GB | WD Green 2TB
Samsung Blu-Ray ROM | OCZ ZS 650W | NZXT Lexa S
Windows 8 Enterprise x64
VMs: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64, Vista Ultimate SP2 x64

Let the beast run! Benchmark your system. You can do it here!
spirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 10:19 PM   #4
Malware and Spam Assassin

 
johnb35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Morris, Illinois
Age: 42
Posts: 25,320
Default

What I have found out in the past is that say you were looking at a product on their site and come to CF, you will usually see the same product in a ad. I know the same thing happens to me if I'm looking at a product on tigerdirect or newegg and come to CF.
__________________
MB - Gigabyte 970A-UD3 || CPU - FX8350|| PSU - Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W || Memory - Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 || GPU - Sapphire HD6870 1GB || HDD's - 500GB SATA III WD Caviar Black, 64gb SATA III Crucial SSD, 120GB Corsair Force 3 SSD|| Monitor - ASUS VE278Q Black 27" 1920x1080 2ms Full HD HDMI LED Backlight || OS - Dual boot XP and 7 || Case - Cooler Master HAF 912 || Cpu cooler - CM Hyper 212 Plus
johnb35 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 10:22 PM   #5
VIP Member
 
spirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Norwich, UK
Age: 15
Posts: 10,586
Default

Yeah they probably use targetted advertising, though I have AdBlock on Chrome, so I don't see ads at all usually. I suspect the issue will be resolved at some point.
__________________
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Core i5 2500K @ 4.3 | Arctic Cooling Freezer 13
16GB RipJaws-X 1648MHz
Sapphire HD 5870
OCZ Vertex 4 128GB | WD Green 2TB
Samsung Blu-Ray ROM | OCZ ZS 650W | NZXT Lexa S
Windows 8 Enterprise x64
VMs: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64, Vista Ultimate SP2 x64

Let the beast run! Benchmark your system. You can do it here!
spirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 10:41 PM   #6
Zettabyte Member

 
voyagerfan99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Columbia, CT
Age: 22
Posts: 14,149
Default

I also attempted to view coolermaster.co.uk and Pale Moon also blocked the page, so something is up with it.
__________________
Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 Socket AM3
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition (3.92Ghz)
Lian-Li LanCool PC-K62 Case w/600W CoolerMaster SilentPro
8GB G-Skill DDR3 RAM
Intel 520 120GB SSD/Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit
Gigabyte GTX570 1280MB/23" Vizio LED TV
Logitech G15 Keyboard/G51 Speakers/MX Revolution

500px
Photography Portfolio
Ian's Camera Forum
voyagerfan99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 10:46 PM   #7
Gigabyte Member
 
NyxCharon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: MD
Posts: 1,357
Default

There was a recent bug found with firefox (not sure about chrome) and certain ad's that caused this exact scenario (apparently some bad ad's slipped in and got sites blacklisted by google). I can't seem to find the bug report though. More then likely it's a false positive.
__________________
Laptop: i3/4GB/GT610M AL 1.0 + Win7 Desktop: i5 3570/8GB/7850 AL 1.0

My sites:
Kharons Blog
Acheron Studios
Adonis Linux

Guides I've worked on:
LAMP Server Setup: Part 1, The Basics
Linux Guide

Last edited by NyxCharon; 12-28-2012 at 10:49 PM.
NyxCharon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 11:05 PM   #8
Gigabyte Member
 
M1kkelZR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 19
Posts: 1,485
Default

im getting the same sometime, no anything harmfull imo.
__________________
formerly Raz3rD

Get Ripped or Die Mirin' - Zyzz
New life motto:
Disregard Females, Acquire Aesthetics

PC: i5 2500k @ 4.7 GHz - Corsair H100 Hydro Series - Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 CL8-8-8-24 - Corsair 300R - Gigabyte HD5870 - WD 500GB HDD - Asus P8Z680-v Gen3
Periph: Razer Deathadder 3.5G - CM Storm Quickfire Rapid CherryMX Red Mechanical Switches - CM Storm RX-L Mousepad - Backup Mouse CM Storm Xornet.
M1kkelZR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 05:20 AM   #9
Byte Member
 
ckflarng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Default

have you have tried using a ad-blocker
__________________
OptiPlex 745 sff / intel core 2 quad q6700 / 4gb ddr2 800mhz / western digital 1tb hdd / xfx one r hd 5450 1gb ddr3 / Windows 8 64 bit OS
ckflarng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 07:07 AM   #10
Megabyte Member
 
AlienMenace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Nebraska, USA
Age: 58
Posts: 628
Default

I just tried the web path also and got it blocked on firefox. And I use "Simple Adblocker" and "DoNotTrackMe" programs.
__________________
ASUS M5A97 R2.0 AM3+ AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Motherboard with UEFI BIOS:, COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler:,G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB DDR3 1866 :, AMD FX-8120 Zambezi 3.1GHz Socket AM3+ 125W Eight-Core :, COOLER MASTER HAF XM RC-922XM-KKN1 Black Mesh, Plastic, Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case:, SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7850 OC 2GB):, 1 tb Seagate SATA 3.0gb:,OCZ Vertex 4 VTX4-25SAT3-128G 2.5" (SSD):, DVD player:, Windows 8 Professional x64.
AlienMenace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Repair - website template for you Euklid Internet Discussion 11 03-25-2011 08:07 PM
Some questions about websites Respital Internet Discussion 12 06-29-2009 03:39 PM
Please help with my website running on a XAMPP server? (Am I Hacked?) dexsans Internet Discussion 0 07-10-2008 04:12 AM
Anti-Hackers website help Punk Computer Security 20 09-04-2007 09:10 AM
What kind of website do you prefer? Punk Internet Discussion 8 06-14-2007 02:15 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright © 2002-2012 Computer Forum