|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Bronze Member
![]() Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 86
|
recently my computer is running slow as hell,, i just built it, its a p4 3.0 ghz 8000fsb with 1gb of ddr ram behind it, with a 128 radeon 9200 8x agp video card, usualy i cann uzip a . rar or .tar file under 5 minutes maybe less, but know its taking me almost a half hour for the same thing, same a s transferring files from one internal drive to another...
i have run ad aware many times, removed any unwanted things, i have norton 03 installed and updated as off september 11th, and that isn't picking up anything, and even that is running slow, it literally stops at a certain point. also i cant keep my homwe page, i think like an unknown trojan is there or something, and everytime i reset it to hotmail, it comes back and gives me another webopage upon opening. does anyone know of any viruses i dont know about, is there anything else i should do, every program i have installed i need.....im just fed up because i can do things as quick as i use to.....i even defragged a couple of times, and that didn't even work... holla back plz |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) | ||
|
Administrator
![]() Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 24
Posts: 19,946
|
Quote:
![]() Quote:
__________________
ASUS P5K Premium WiFi-AP, Q6600@3.7 / ASUS P5ND, E6400@3.8 4GB OCz Platinum XTC 8500 / 4GB CorsairXMS2 6400 5x500GB Seagate 7200.10 / 2x500 Seagate 7200.10 OCz 8800GTX 768MB @ 630/800 / 2x Galaxy 8800GT SLI |
||
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) | ||
|
Administrator
![]() Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 24
Posts: 19,946
|
Quote:
2. Find your HDD controllers, goto properties, advanced and then make sure they (try to) use DMA mode Quote:
__________________
ASUS P5K Premium WiFi-AP, Q6600@3.7 / ASUS P5ND, E6400@3.8 4GB OCz Platinum XTC 8500 / 4GB CorsairXMS2 6400 5x500GB Seagate 7200.10 / 2x500 Seagate 7200.10 OCz 8800GTX 768MB @ 630/800 / 2x Galaxy 8800GT SLI |
||
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) |
|
Bronze Member
![]() Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 86
|
the homepage i now default to is http://www.iwantsearch.com..is this associated with some virus?
|
|
|
|