ComputerForum.com ComputerForum.com  
Go Back   Computer Forum > Internet > Internet Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2006, 08:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Silver Member
 
Primex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Miami, Florida, USA
Posts: 138
Default Is this another Paypal Scam?

I got an email today that looked like a confirmation email from Paypal saying that I had just paid for an item on Ebay for a phone that was about $300.00. Now I haven't bought anything on Ebay in about a month. Panicking since I knew I didn't buy anything, I opened a new window and opened my Paypal account and luckily saw that nothing new had been reported. Looking back at the original email, there was a link that stated "If you haven't authorized this charge, click the link below to cancel the payment and get a full refund," to which there was a link right below this. After placing the cursor over the link below it states that the url is something like http://www.herptiles.com/images/....
Now I've been sent scam emails from supposedly 'Paypal' in the past, but this one is a new one. I'm afraid to even click on the link, is this a scam? Has anyone else gotten anything like this?
Primex is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-21-2006, 09:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Platinum Member
 
s_m_w_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ireland
Age: 21
Posts: 934
Default

I wouldnt open the link Id send it to paypal and explain what has happened!
__________________
Nzxt Apollo chassis Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.66 2x Crucial 1GB @1066MHz EVEA nForce 680i SLI BFG 8800 GTX @ 768 MB
20" Samsung LCD " @ 1680 x 1050 60Hz
3DMARK05:12133

Comming in 2008
my computer but better
s_m_w_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 09:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Moderator
 
jimmymac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chester, UK
Age: 28
Posts: 3,793
Default

yes its definately a scam, ebay and paypal will never send you an email that requires you to click on a link and login

an easy way to check is to go to your ebay account and see if the same message is in there too as anything sent by ebay or paypal will also be sent to your ebay mail account
__________________
I tried to put my signature in here but my pen ruined the monitor.
jimmymac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2006, 07:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Moderator - F@H Guru
 
magicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 3,063
Default

It's a shame such vigilance is needed in this day and age, but well spotted. New phishing emails are being sent every day, reporting it is really the best you can hope to do.
__________________

FOLDING FOR THE GOOD OF MANKIND :F@H Team 44358
magicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2006, 07:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
VIP Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Concord, NH
Age: 20
Posts: 27,466
Default

It's scam. They do that so when you click on the link you have to log in, and then they can steal your money.

As PayPal says, dont ever click on a link in an e-mail. Only enter your information by going to www.paypal.com

If you have doubts that its real, go to your paypal account and see if its really gone.
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.1GHz
Asus Rampage Formula X48
ATI 4870X2 2GB GDDR5 (800/1900)
4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 960
750GB SATAII w/32MB
Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
SilverStone 750W +12V@60A
3DMark06:
22605
[-0MEGA-] is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0 ©2008, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright © 2002-2008 Computer Forum and Web Design Forum