Free to Play Games

Discussion in 'Computer Games and Consoles' started by Aastii, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. Aastii

    Aastii Global Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,291
    All games here are FREE. No illegal downloads, torrents, cracks, serials codes, or private servers. Some games do include additional content for purchase, but it is not required to play.

    Don't forget to give feedback on the thread, and/or suggestions for additional games to be added :D


    Games with LINKS next to them are available on their own site, without the DRM listed above.


    MULTIPLAYER

    DotA
    Battle for Graxia
    Dota 2

    Heroes of Newerth: https://www.heroesofnewerth.com/download/
    League of Legends (EU Nordic & East): http://eune.leagueoflegends.com/
    League of Legends (EU West): http://eu.leagueoflegends.com/
    League of Legends (North America): http://na.leagueoflegends.com/en/

    Driving/Racing
    APB Reloaded
    RaceRoom Racing Experience
    : http://game.raceroom.com/

    MMO
    Aliance of Valiant Arms (AVA): http://ava.aeriagames.com/
    Allods Online: https://allods.my.com/
    Atlantica Online: http://atlantica.nexon.net/
    Battlestar Galactica Online: http://bsgo.com/
    Champions Online: http://www.arcgames.com/en/games/champions-online
    Conquer Online: http://co.99.com/downloads/
    Dungeons And Dragons Online: www.ddo.com
    Entropia Universe: http://www.entropiauniverse.com/
    EverQuest: https://www.everquest.com/register
    EverQuest II: https://www.everquest2.com/home
    Fallen Earth: www.gamersfirst.com/fallenearth/
    Fallen Sword: http://www.fallensword.com/
    Flyff: http://en.flyff.webzen.com/landing1/
    Lord of the Rings Online: http://www.lotro.com/
    MapleStory: http://maplestory.nexon.net/
    Path of Exile: http://www.pathofexile.com/
    Runes of Magic: http://www.runesofmagic.com/en/index.html
    Runescape: http://www.runescape.com/
    Old School Runescape: http://oldschool.runescape.com/
    Shattered Galaxy: http://www.sgalaxy.com/
    Spiral Knights
    Stalker Online: http://en.stalker.so/
    Star Trek Online: http://www.arcgames.com/en/games/star-trek-online
    Stronghold Kingdoms: http://www.strongholdkingdoms.com/
    Tibia: http://www.tibia.com/mmorpg/free-multiplayer-online-role-playing-game.php

    Shooters
    Absolute Force: http://www.onrpg.com/games/absolute-force-online/
    Alien Swarm
    America's Army 3: http://www.americasarmy.com/downloads/?view=deploy
    APB: Reloaded: http://apbreloaded.gamersfirst.com/
    Assault Cube: http://assault.cubers.net/
    Blacklight Retribution: https://register.perfectworld.com/bl_splash
    Combat Arms: http://combatarms.nexon.net/
    Counter Strike 2D: http://www.cs2d.com/download.php
    Crossfire: http://crossfire.z8games.com/main.html
    Gang Garrison 2: http://www.ganggarrison.com/
    Halo Zero: http://halo-zero.en.softonic.com/
    Hawken: http://www.playhawken.com/#home
    Heroes & Generals
    Megaman 8 Bit Deathmatch: http://cutstuff.net/mm8bdm/
    Nexuiz: http://www.nexuiz.com/
    No More Room In Hell
    Planetside 2: http://www.planetside2.com/
    Realm of the Mad God: http://www.realmofthemadgod.com/
    Red Crucible: Firestorm
    Soldat: http://soldat.thd.vg/en/
    Team Fortress 2
    Tribes Ascend: http://www.tribesascend.com/
    War Inc.: http://www.thewarinc.com/
    War Thunder: http://warthunder.com/
    Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory: http://www.splashdamage.com/content/wolfenstein-enemy-territory-barracks
    World of Tanks: http://game.worldoftanks.com/update

    Strategy/Simulation
    Moonbase Alpha: http://nasa.gov
    Neptune's Pride: http://np.ironhelmet.com/
    Scorched 3D: http://www.scorched3d.co.uk/


    SINGLE PLAYER

    Action/Adventure

    Broken Sword 2.5: http://www.brokensword25.com/
    Free Rider: http://www.freerider-1.net/
    Liberation Army: http://free-game-downloads.mosw.com/abandonware/pc/strategy_games/games_j_l/liberation_army.html
    Line Flyer: http://www.lineflyer1.net/
    Line Rider: http://www.linerider1.net/
    Prince of Persia: http://www.bestoldgames.net/eng/old-games/prince-of-persia.php
    Prince of Persia 2: http://www.dosgamesarchive.com/download/prince-of-persia-2-the-shadow-and-the-flame/
    Super Crate Box: http://supercratebox.com/?p=downloads/
    The Spirit Engine 1 & 2: http://thespiritengine.com/tse2-info.html

    Music
    Frets on Fire: http://fretsonfire.sourceforge.net/

    Driving/Racing
    Copa Petrobras de Marcas
    Driving Speed 2: http://www.wheelspinstudios.com/drivingspeed2/
    Ferrari Virtual Race: http://ferrari-virtual-race.en.softonic.com/
    Forza Motorsport 6 Apex BETA (Supports 4K): https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/store/apps/forza-motorsport-6-apex-beta/9nblggh3shm7
    Torcs: http://torcs.sourceforge.net/
    Trackmania: http://www.trackmania.com/

    Point & Click/Clickers
    BitCoiner: http://www.silvergames.com/bitcoiner
    Cookie Clicker: http://orteil.dashnet.org/cookieclicker/
    Mental Repairs inc.: http://www.hulub.ch/mentalrepairs.php

    Puzzle/Casual
    Azangara: http://www.axysoft.com/azangara/index.htm
    Bumpy 1: http://www.brothersoft.com/games/bumpy.html
    Frozen Bubble: http://www.frozen-bubble.org/
    Peggle Extreme

    Roleplay/Fantasy
    Diablo: http://www.freedownloadsplace.com/Products/38262/Diablo
    King's Quest I, II, and III: http://www.agdinteractive.com/games/games.html
    King's Quest - The Silver Lining: http://www.tsl-game.com/
    Quest for Glory 2: http://www.agdinteractive.com/games/games.html

    Shooters
    Abuse: http://www.acid-play.com/download/abuse/
    Aleph One: http://source.bungie.org/index.php/Main_Page
    Alien Arena: http://icculus.org/alienarena/rpa/
    Doom: http://www.dosgamesarchive.com/download/doom/
    Doom 2: http://www.archive.org/details/006392
    Duke Nukem 3D: http://www.dosgamesarchive.com/download/duke-nukem-3d/
    Soldier Front 2
    Voxelstein 3D: http://voxelstein3d.sourceforge.net/
    Warsow: http://www.warsow.net/

    Strategy/Simulation
    0 A.D: https://play0ad.com/
    Allegiance: http://www.freeallegiance.org/
    Battle of Wesnoth: http://www.wesnoth.org/
    Command and Conquer: http://www.commandandconquer.com/
    Dune II: http://www.abandonia.com/en/games/36/Dune+II+-+The+Building+of+a+Dynasty.html
    Dune 2000: http://www.abandonia.com/en/games/27329/Dune+2000.html
    FreeCiv: http://freeciv.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page
    UFO:Alien Invasion: http://ufoai.ninex.info/wiki/index.php/Download
    Warcraft: Orcs and Humans: http://www.abandonia.com/en/games/422/Warcraft+-+Orcs+and+Humans.html
    Warzone 2100: http://wz2100.net/

    Other/Misc
    Carrion Reanimating: http://carrion-reanimating.en.softonic.com/
    Classic Cube (Minecraft): https://www.classicube.net/
    Dwarf Fortress: http://www.bay12games.com/dwarves/index.html
    Happy Wheels: http://www.totaljerkface.com/happy_wheels.tjf
    Learn 2 Fly: http://www.engineering.com/GamesPuzzles/Learn2Fly.aspx
    NetHack: http://www.nethack.org/
    The Hunter: http://www.thehunter.com/
    The Plan

    Originally written by @Aastii on August 11th 2010, and last edited January 26th 2013. This thread has since been revived by @C4C (Steam Profile) on July 20th, 2016.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 21, 2016
  2. Aastii

    Aastii Global Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,291
    reserved
     
  3. Shane

    Shane Super Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    20,419
  4. Aastii

    Aastii Global Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,291
    Because you need the Gamers first program to download it, I've put a link to the gamers first utility at the top with all their games (included warrock) colour coded, so you have to download the utility to download/play it

    and ty :)
     
  5. fastdude

    fastdude New Member

    Messages:
    2,925
    Nice list :good:
    Isn't runescape free?
    Sorry if I'm wrong, I've never played an MMO
     
  6. Aastii

    Aastii Global Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,291
    Yea suppose I could put browser games in there, but don't want a list with a load of flash games and crap like that. Can make exceptions for ones like Runescape though, yes, will add it now :)

    You will find with most free to play games, especially online ones because they have to pay for servers, they have optional payed for extras to get money, but the game itself is free
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2010
  7. linkin

    linkin VIP Member

    Messages:
    13,518
    Runescape is free yeah, but you can pay like $9.50 AUD a month for membership (which i do) and you can to access a whole lot more. the free version is alright though.
     
  8. Aastii

    Aastii Global Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,291
    updated with a few more games and with C&C games broken down with individual game downloads
     
  9. kobaj

    kobaj VIP Member

    Messages:
    2,946
    Maybe we could get a (completely biased and unfair) rating system going? For example, Alien Swarm could get 5 stars because of its fun gameplay, original content, etc. While games like WarRock would only get 3 because of the amount of hackers/cheaters/etc always online.

    Just you know, like a "recommendation" system so people aren't downloading games just because they're free...but also because they're good.
     
  10. Aastii

    Aastii Global Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,291
    I was thinking that, but there are a few problems with it.

    If you look at the freeware thread, programs can be recomended for features, ease of use, support etc. You can say for a fact this program is better than this one for these reasons.

    Like on that list, I love C&C, Alien Swarm, Warrock and have played most of the MMOs there and thought some were pretty good. You get someone who dislikes RTS games though, and they will rate C&C poorly, when I wouldn't, if they think, like you, that warrock has many flaws, they will rate that low, when I would rate it quite high. It is too subjective. The freeware thread is also subjective, but not the same extent as the programs there don't evoke emotions or thought (with the exception of rage sometimes :p), but games can and do, so the experience differs greatly from person to person

    If something like that were to be implemented, I would want feedback on the games from quite a few CF members about what they think of them, so to say "I played <game>, would rate it 3/5. I found it fun and challenging, however the graphics weren't very good and neither was the AI" so I knew it isn't just my opinion, it is a range of them from different people who like different games
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2010
  11. awildgoose

    awildgoose New Member

    Messages:
    3,617
    Very nice list Aastii, a "recommendation" would be nice, but as you said, too easily biased.
    Just a note, America's Army 3 does not need steam, steam is just one of the ways to get it.
     
  12. Aastii

    Aastii Global Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,291
    I've put in a link to AA3 without steam, but left the steam one in also, thanks :)
     
  13. Mez

    Mez Active Member

    Messages:
    1,336
    Soldier Front (FPS) Requires ijji downloader (no direct link), but is inculded with the first download.

    http://sfront.ijji.com/

    ijji.com also has a large variety of MMO/FPS games for free.
     
  14. lucasbytegenius

    lucasbytegenius Active Member

    Messages:
    5,424
    We thank you, Aastii, for all of your hard work in the Freeware and F2PG lists. And I personally thank you for putting in my favorite freeware RTS, WarZone 2100 :)
     
  15. jam70

    jam70 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2012
  16. Aastii

    Aastii Global Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,291
    Will add them all when I am next on a computer with decent keyboard lol, on a crappy laptop atm

    Thankyou very much, I don't do it to get praise or anything back, but it is nice to know it has been helpful to someone :)

    Will take a look at it when site maintenance is over
     
  17. Aastii

    Aastii Global Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,291
    Added Soldier Front

    Not added farmerama for the reason that I said about flash games, I don't want just a list of free online flash games or facebook games, there are numerous websites with thousands of flash games on compiled in one place, and facebook games can be found on facebook
     
  18. Aastii

    Aastii Global Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,291
    updated
     
  19. Charr

    Charr New Member

    Messages:
    67
    I haven't played it in a while, but last time I checked Battlefield Heroes was free.

    Its an online shooter, the only thing you have to pay for is character customization stuff I believe.
     
  20. lemke_254

    lemke_254 New Member

    Messages:
    3

Share This Page