Looking for help upgrading RAM for motherboard

gamerdude1792

Hey all, I'm a computer noob. With that being said I do A LOT of rendering in Blender and make CG videos constantly. Right now I have 16GB of DDR4 RAM on an AS-ROCK Z690-C/AC motherboard. I run a 12th Gen i7-12700KF processor with an RTX 3070. I'm looking to see how much RAM I should get (How much is actually overkill) and what's recommended to see a performance boost when working and rendering in Blender and other 3D software. Any help is appreciated. I really have no clue where to start. I'm not informed on these kinds of things.

Thanks in advance!

johnb35

Administrator
Staff member
The problem you have is the more ram you have, the more the system will use when doing demanding tasks. So basically what we tell people is check task manager for ram usage when doing the most demanding task you have and see how much ram is being used. If you are above 80 percent then it's time to get more ram.

gamerdude1792

I'm running at 88% right now with blender open working in a scene and rendering some frames (which is much less than rendering animations by the 1,000's of frames.)

johnb35

Administrator
Staff member
Then you definitely want either a total of 32 or even maybe 48 or 64. If you add to existing ram just make sure you buy same speed and timing ram or if exact model of ram you currently have is still available then get that.

gamerdude1792

is it worth upgrading to the highest MHZ I can handle for my motherboard or is that splitting hairs i.e. difference between 3600 and 5000+?

Couriant

Your board can handle up to 128GB of memory. (4x 32GB). These memory modules have been tested by AS-Rock.

When it comes to tasks like Blender, my preference would be to max out (my wife does big illustrations), but if you don't want to spend that much, then 64GB should be sufficient.