A new way of taking pictures...

The_Other_One

VIP Member
Well, this is quite a distance from unedited, so I'll make a new thread... Last night someone told me about High dynamic range imaging(HDR) Basically, you take a series of pictures using different exposure settings and then combine them using software... For a comparison, here's the picture I took using full auto on my camera.

STD1.jpg

Here's the same picture, but on manual mode(f4.0, ISO100, exposure going in 1 steps) 5 total pictures went into this one...

HDR1.jpg

I realize it's not the best example, but it's my first attempt. And you can see the difference :) I think it's pretty neat stuff. Expect to see more from me later as the weather clears up ;)

Last edited:

apj101

VIP Member
colours look a bit deeper, looks good, but i cant really say which i prefer (ps I such at photos)

Kornowski

VIP Member
It looks a lot better, I'll have to give a go sometime, How do you know what order and alpha to set the pictures to when combining them?

My camera has a 'Vivid' setting, it looks as if it'll do the same thing, I'll have to test this out.

The_Other_One

VIP Member
I have such color settings on my camera too, but I don't know if it does the same thing. If you notice on the top picture, much of the detail is lost around the sky. Many HDR pictures are made so you can still see the sky and the ground clearly. I think a typical "VIVID" setting would simply bring out the colors on the ground, and leave a white sky...

Look around. There are much better examples than what I've done...

speedyink

VIP Member
Yeah, I've seen some pretty kickass HDR photos. Basically, the light is way more evenly distributed, which brings out details that would be under exposed and over exposed in pictures. It's really cool, I've been meaning to try it but I haven't gotten around to it yet. I dont know what software to use either..

DCIScouts

VIP Member