firewire help

galaga-girl

Hi guys

I am new here and while I know a bit about PC's I am FAR from being anything close to an expert :)

I just bought a firewire card from ebay (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=3832063167&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT) and installed it, XP detected it and installed the driver, I went to device manager and it said there was an error and it says:
This device cannot start. (Code 10)

As the location is says:
Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant IEEE

I've tried re-installing the card and placing it in different slots. I connected my camcorder anyway (Panasonic NV-DS60) and it seems to be capturing video but it isn't a smooth capture - but i've never done it before so am not sure what it looks like on the PC and I can't test it out on a DVD because I haven't bought my DVD burner yet (next week hopefully!)

Can anyone help with this?
Thanks so much for any replies!
wendy

Praetor

Administrator
Staff member
Do you have SP1 installed? :) Since Windows detects the Texas Intruments OHCI thingy ... it should be functioning (and it seems to as you can perform captures) ... you might try uninstalling that device from Device Manager and rebooting to see if it's redetected.

Now as for your capture quality, what are the specs on (a) the system and (b) your capture?

galaga-girl

I do have SP1 installed.

My system is:
Dell Dimension 4600
P4 2.6
512MB
XP home

I'm not sure what you mean by the capture thing??

Praetor

Administrator
Staff member
I meant, what resolution/framerate are you trying to capture at (and are you capturing to raw AVI or are you doing some live encoding)? :)

galaga-girl

Ok, I got the program, I put the file into it but all of the fields say n/a the only one that doesn't is the Stream Type which says Multipart OpenDML AVI

galaga-girl