Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by flarn2004, Dec 29, 2003.

  1. flarn2004

    flarn2004 New Member

    Messages:
    23
    I have a Windows 98 machine, but it doesn't work well at all!!! Whenever I try to open up a folder, it shows the following dialog box:
    |----------------------------------------------|
    | Explorer [X] |
    |----------------------------------------------|
    | |
    | (X) This program has performed an |
    | illegal operation and has been |
    | shut down. If the problem persists |
    | please contact your program |
    | vendor. |
    | [Close] [Details...] |
    | |
    |----------------------------------------------|
    Now, the problem is persisting, but I just have a feeling that using a chat board is a better idea.
    PLEASE help me!

    P.S. If you think the right of the ASCII art of the dialog box is very sloppy, just ignore it. The text is the most important part anyway.
     
  2. flarn2004

    flarn2004 New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Oh, 2 more things: Internet Explorer crashes as soon as I start it also; I used an iMac for this. If I try to reinstall Windows 98, it just says that the reinstaller is not designed for my version of Windows, and I have a lot of important stuff on there that won't fit on a CD-RW.
     
  3. TiGa TacTics

    TiGa TacTics New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Wipe and reload. If the problem continues after that then you have a hardware issue, which I doubt it is. 9 out of 10 times this solves the issue.
     
  4. flarn2004

    flarn2004 New Member

    Messages:
    23
    I have a lot of important stuff on there, as I said in my second reply. TiGa TacTics, wiping my hard disk would erase all of that stuff, and backing up would be way too tedious.
     
  5. AainaalyaA

    AainaalyaA New Member

    Messages:
    309
    burn it on cd i mean
     
  6. flarn2004

    flarn2004 New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Bad idea

    There is some data that can't fit on a CD. Plus, all of the data together will especially require more CDs than we already have that are CD-Rs or CD-RWs.
    And, I don't want to have to buy more. :(
     
  7. [tab]

    [tab] [...]

    Messages:
    919
    If you're not backing up, then you're asking for trouble anyways.
     
  8. flarn2004

    flarn2004 New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Is there some way to fix this issue without erasing my profile or any other important data I have? I also don't want to have to pay.
     
  9. Aleksey

    Aleksey New Member

    Messages:
    44
    have you concidered buying something of a remote storeage sorts?
    you know some of them can be very good deal, such as one that stores up to 30GB for $250 or so.

    And a question: did you assemble this computer yourself? o_O
     
  10. AainaalyaA

    AainaalyaA New Member

    Messages:
    309
    chuckle... what will you be loosing if you lost everything? your sanity or the other one --> insanity? whatever it is you'd need to back up your files, then do it.. whinning about it is not gonna solve anything..

    ... now to go find something to paste in my new home page... :)
     
  11. AainaalyaA

    AainaalyaA New Member

    Messages:
    309
    which brother? real one or imagined one? don't mind me though... I've read so many postings in so many forums, that makes me wonder...
     
  12. flarn2004

    flarn2004 New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Aleksey, didn't I say I didn't want to pay?
     
  13. Christopher

    Christopher VIP Member

    Messages:
    1,356
  14. cptnwinky

    cptnwinky VIP Member

    Messages:
    83
    Well there is obviously a program that is set to run on startup that's not behaving right with explorer. Theres alot of crappy stuff out there and the biggest cause of this, IMHO, is downloading unnecesary crap like screensavers and mouse icons, etc. I've seen things like that do this a hundred times over.

    GOTO: Start > Run > {type}msconfig

    GOTO the start up tab and start looking for things that you obviously don't need running when you start up and then restart. Keep going through things until the problem stops. This may fix it, it may not.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2004
  15. zkiller

    zkiller <b>VIP Member</b>

    Messages:
    781
    sounds like the explorer.exe is corrupted to me. if that is the case you will need to whipe out everything and start over with a fresh install of windows, but i could be wrong.

    hope cptnwinky's suggestion works out for you.
     
  16. Christopher

    Christopher VIP Member

    Messages:
    1,356
    Yes, you are wrong. A fresh install won't do anything -- explorer is corrupt to begin with.

    </cheesey windows dis> ;)
     
  17. Rick G

    Rick G New Member

    Messages:
    294
    You might try running a couple of programs like Spyware and Adware to see if you have any ride along gremlins. Both programs are free on download.com. Also run a good virus program to make sure the nasties are'nt lurking about.
     
  18. Kanduu

    Kanduu New Member

    Messages:
    108
    You can copy all your personal data to a seperate folder, before you re-install WINDOWS.
    You can also try starting in SAFE-MODE. (F8-KEY at start-up).
     
  19. computerhakk

    computerhakk VIP Member

    Messages:
    3,626
    you are probably getting a General Protection Fault.. caused by programs running into unexpected results in memory or linkage structures... if you click the Details button it'll show the program that is having (but not necessarily causing) the problem... which may give you a hint of what to check....sometimes reinstalling Windows can fix it... but other things like faulty memory or motherboards can also cause GPFs along with just about anything else...unless you understand assembler code and have access to Microsoft Windows internals and source code (which is illegal), solving these problems is usually trial and error.. u can try a System File Check

    it'll be handy if u have urs win98 cd incase it detects anything and needs to restore the files.. SFC checks for system alteration.. so if any system file has been altered or damaged somehow.. it'll show..

    start>run>SFR /scannow

    if it restores anything.. restart n try if it fixed it
     

Share This Page