How do I setup S-video connection? (cable box to computer)

newbie2005

I have the "S-video/audio(white & red)" all-in-one cable (photo below):

cable.jpg

How do I capture video from the cable box to my computer using the S-video connection method? Currently I use the Composite connection method. I'm not satisfied with the video quality. So i've decided to go for the S-video method, something which I have no knowledge with. Here's what I'm attempted to do (photo below):

s-diagram.JPG

The above diagram: one end of the cable(the S-video connector) is connected to the cable box's "S-video out". What about the other end of the S-video connector? There's no S-video socket found on my capture card. And I can't plug it into the "AV In" socket on my capture card, because the S-video connector won't fit. Can you folks help?

Last edited:

newbie2005

Hi,

I guess this is a 2-part question:

s-diagram.JPG

(1) You folks said all I need to do is to connect the other end of the S-video cable into my capture card's S-VHS port. In your opinion, do you think it will work? I thought the S-VHS port on the capture card was for connecting to a VCR.

(2) I found an interesting looking cable on the internet. One end of the cable has the S-video connector; the other end of the cable has the RCA connector (yellow). The photo below is what it look like:

correct-cable.jpg

Will this strange looking cable be the solution? Will it work, if I plug the S-video connector into my cable box's S-video Out, and then plug the RCA connector (yellow) into my capture card's AV-In port? Basically this is a S-video male to RCA male connection, am i correct?

How will such connection affect the video quality? We're coverting the S-video signal to Composite. Would it be as good as if I were to use the S-video male to S-video male connection?

Lorand

<b>VIP Member</b>