Upgrading Computer: Suggestions?

chaosRL

Hi everybody, I just signed up here because the other forum I go to isn't really helping much. Anyways, I'm planning on upgrading my computer, and I need some second opinions on stuff, as this is my first time doing it.

Here's my current setup:
2000 Gateway Computer
1 Ghz Pentium III
Unknown Motherboard
Soundcard came with system
ATi Radeon 9600 Pro (not upgrading this)
80 Gb Western Digital HD
20 Gb Seagate(?) HD (this came with my system)
256 Mb RAM

I'm looking to upgrade my CPU, motherboard, RAM, and PSU. Hopefully, the costs will be no more than $500 MAX, preferably between $300-400, although I know that will be hard. I'm just looking for a faster computer that may be able to run HL2 without lag. Right now, I have this CPU in mind:

AMD Athlon 64 3200+, 512k L2 Cache, The Only 64-bit Windows Compatible Processor - Retail

Model# ADA3200AXBOX
Item # N82E16819103483

Specification
Model: AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Core: Newcastle
Operating Frequency: 2.2GHz
FSB: Integrated int chip
Cache: L1/64K+64K; L2/512K
Voltage: 1.5V
Process: 0.13Micron
Socket: Socket 754
Multimedia Instruction: MMX, SSE, SSE2, 3DNOW!, 3DNOW!+
Warranty: 3-year MFG
Packaging: Retail Box (Heatsink and Fan included)
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=19-103-483&depa=1

My question is whether or not this is a good chip, other options that are better than this, what I will need to do in terms of cooling, motherboards that are good with this chip or any suggested chips, and types of RAM (512 is enough for now, to keep the costs down). Thanks!!!

arkiebrian

Where are you shopping? I'd like to suggest that you look at mwave.com. I always use them. They have the best prices for individual buyers.

Your specs sound good to me if that will keep you under $500. I didn't see you name a motherboard specifically. You can save money on the motherboard by buying one that doesn't have integreted video or sound (it's crap anyway).

kof2000