ZoneAlarm Free - v - Sygate Personal Pro

Casselle

Hi Everyone, A computer engineer recently recommended Sygate Personal Pro firewall to me. I had the free version of ZoneAlarm installed.

Does anyone have any experience with Sygate and know whether it is a better firewall?

hermeslyre

VIP Member
I have some experience, as I've tried most of the free security related software out there. :cool: Sygate has a very nice UI, it's not cluttered, and best of all It's pretty light on the resources. BUT, from my knowledge on the subject, it was bought by symantec and they discontinued updating the free version. That means it's two years behind the bend, not a good thing. Keep zonelalarm, and if you want even better protection, get a hardware firewall like those built into most routers, they prove to be the best firewalls available, not in little part because of the functionality of a Router. :)

Edit: AHH! I realize now you we're referring to the paid version, ALA the updated version. Nevertheless my opinion remains the same, no software firewall can stand up to the protection provided by a router and the hardware firewall included.

Last edited:

Casselle

Zonealarm Free -v- Sygate Personal Pro

Many thanks for your replies. I think the Zoom Router ADSL X6 has a Firewall included?

Can I just clarify - in addition to the router firewall, you would recommend ZoneAlarm in preference to Sygate?

Also, the engineer enabled Virtual Server/DMZ on my Router for increased traffic flow - I'm not sure why this would be needed, but am concerned it may increase the risk of infection from viruses, etc. What are the advantages of having it switched on? Would you recommend I untick 'enabled'?

tremmor