Installing a second HDD

jetnine

Hi I am a bit new to installing hard drives and I need some help. I have installed an old hard drive as primary slave but it doesn't appear on the computer. I checked the "Disk Management" utility in Windows XP but I don't see my second hard drive. There is also no icon for it in My Computer.

Is there something I have to do first to make my computer see the drive? Is the drive dead? I took the drive out of a computer which did need work, when it was plugged in sparks flew everywhere but I don't think it harmed the HDD.

Johnnyboy0056

first of all, is it on the same ide cable as the other drive. and there is no such thing as a primary slave. its either primary, OR slave. check ur pins in the back of the hard drive. if it is on a separate cable, then both need to be set to primary. if on the same, then the second drive needs to be on slave, unless the other hd (primary one) is set to cables select, in which case u need to set the new hard drive (secondary one) to cable select also. then try it again and see if it identifies it.

Geoff

VIP Member
As johnny said, the hard drive with the OS needs to be set to primary, and the other one to slave. And when you say "sparks flew everywhere", did they come out near the hard drive, motherboard, or power supply?

jetnine

My drive with OS on it is set to cable select. I thought the IDE ribbon was called the primary and the setting either master or slave. I have the second HDD installed as slave on the primary IDE ribbon. I used to have them both set as cable select but it didn't find it then either. Both HDDs are on the same ribbon; primary.

The sparks came out of the wall plug but only when the computer was plugged in, anything else plugged into the socket and there was no sparks. Is this just a faulty cord?

Trizoy

VIP Member
geoff5093 said: