$300 Gaming PC O_O

Darkest.Hr

I'm on a super tight budget and I'm looking to build a gaming PC for roughly $300.

So far I have:

LG 16X DVD-ROM Optical Drive SATA Black OEM

Antec Nine Hundred Mid Tower Gamer Case 900 ATX 9 Drive Bay No PS Top USB2.0 1394 Audio

G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL Ripjaws PC3-12800 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 Core i5 1.5V Memory Kit

AMD Athlon II X2 250 Dual Core Processor Socket AM3 3.0GHZ 2MB L2 Cache 65W Retail Box

Western Digital Caviar SE 160GB SATA2 7200RPM 8.9MS 8MB Hard Drive OEM 3 Year MFR Warranty

I still need to select a Motherboard and power supply, can anyone make any suggestions?

At the moment the total is $253 I believe, with the mail-in rebate. excluding taxes.

I'll be running Windows 7 as well.

I'm a complete noob at this stuff as well >_<

I know this probably sounds crazy trying to achieve a 'decent' rig for around $300, I hope its possible O_O

kobaj

VIP Member
I'm just going to be frank and say no.

For 300$ you're not really going to find the components to make a moderately good gaming pc. Maybe a decent home server or web browsing machine...but that's it. You have no GPU planned, case PSUs are terrible, the hard drive is small, no OS, etc etc etc.

However, I do have some suggestions (because this post sounds like a total downer and I don't mean to be so rude), may I recommend any of the following.

A) Save up your money. After a while you could build a nice gaming machine for double what you currently have (600$), and a kick butt gaming rig with all the fixings for three times (900$).

B) Buy Barbones/Used/prebuilt. While not the newest components, it'll be /a/ gaming rig. I don't know how well it would play games.

C) Get a console. Xbox 360's are like 199$ new (I think, its been a while since I purchased mine) and that leaves enough for two (used) games!

D) Find another hobby besides video games?

300$ is just too little for a gaming rig IMO, Sorry.

iRobsta