A Formula for a "faster" computer (Processor Vs RAM Vs HDD)

Jimbojohn

Hi dear enthusiasts :),

First I would like to share a bit of my experience and understanding regarding my question and please do not hesitate to correct me if there are misconceptions and mistakes because I am really a beginner.

I always had this question of is RAM the part responsible for making one’s computer “faster” or the processor. For example, should I focus on increasing the GHz speed of my processor as much as my mother board allows and the number of processor cores or should I increase the amount of the ram, the number of ram channels and the ram speed. Later, I came to know that increasing some of the mentioned parameters of either the processor or the RAM without considering the limitations of the other will only diminish the speed and performance. So I thought if one comes up with a formula or recipe that takes all the parameters of RAM and processor into account, the “fastest” computer for a GIVEN SPECIFICATIONS can be achieved.
However, something interesting happened. One of my friends changed his HDD to a SSD and this increased the speed of OS booting up and general file transfers ( for example the download of some files from a game client would finish faster on his computer than mine which has a HDD, but the download speeds were roughly the same). Then my friend and his friend got into a long discussion about whether this same result could be achieved with adding more RAM instead of changing the HDD to SSD. My question is:
Is there a formula or a recipe which takes into account all of the parameters of RAM, Processor and a HDD (or SSD) to make one’s computer “faster”.
By “faster” I means increased OS boot up speed, increased file transfer speed, increased OS and software feedback or response speed etc.

I also realized that I have left the video card out of this, but I believe that would only affect the fluency and speed of games or maybe recording videos or games.