? about networking harware

afrench89

I had some questions regarding networking hardware. Now how I understand things, all computers need a modem to connect to the internet. Also, how I understand things, if you use an Ethernet cable to connect to the internet you do not really need a router but it has its advantages. What are some advantages of using a router? Also, how I understand things, a person needs a wireless router if they are going to connect to the internet wirelessly. Please offer any insight. I am new at all this.

bkribbs

I had some questions regarding networking hardware. Now how I understand things, all computers need a modem to connect to the internet. Also, how I understand things, if you use an Ethernet cable to connect to the internet you do not really need a router but it has its advantages. What are some advantages of using a router? Also, how I understand things, a person needs a wireless router if they are going to connect to the internet wirelessly. Please offer any insight. I am new at all this.

I don't believe there are to many reasons to get a router if you have 1 wired computer-actually I can't think of a single one-. If you have multiple computers that need wired, then you need a switch. The switch basically allows for the Ethernet cable to be plugged in, and have several Ethernet cables come out, which allows more than one wired computer to connect. If you have a wireless computer(s), you need a wireless router. The router is what emits the wireless signal.

afrench89