Alineware Aurora PC

dafitza

Hello,

I have considered building a system due to numerous sites stating it is a much better deal. I have never built a computer before however, and really would rather pruchase something with a warranty. While pricing parts on newegg also, I didn't find a huge discrepency in prices.

What I would like is honest opinions on the value of this system, barring the you could save a couple hundred bucks building it yourself. If it was 500 bucks, I would consider it! ($200 for the time to build and potential for things going wrong building it myself isn't worth it.)

Catalog Number: 29 DPCWDX1
Alienware Aurora Alienware Aurora Desktop
Operating Systems Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium, 64bit
2nd Processor Intel® Core™ i7 920 2.66GHz (8MB Cache) Quad Core Processor
Memory 6GB Triple Channel 1333Mhz DDR3
Keyboard Alienware Multi-Media Keyboard
Video Cards Single 1.8GB NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 295 GTX295 [320-0859]
Hard Drive 500GB - SATA-II, 3Gb/s, 7,200RPM, 16MB Cache HDD
Mouse Alienware Optical Mouse, MG100
Optical Drive Single Drive: 24X CD/DVD burner (DVD+/-RW) w/double layer write capability 24DVDRW
Hardware Support Services 1 Yr Ltd Hardware Warranty, InHome Service after Remote Diagnosis
Cooling Option Alienware™ High-Performance Liquid Cooling

Thanks!

PS This system with taxes and free shipping runs just under $2000.

Last edited:

dafitza

Aha. That is much cheaper. Is that company reliable? I have read many reviews of ibuypower saying they sucked.\

And thank you.

EDIT: Uggh that was what I was afraird of. The BBB gives them a C rating and over at the pcworld forums there are threads upon threads of them sucking. This is quite the difficult decision.

Last edited:

ScottALot

Well, what do you expect? They build the computer for you, so labor charges.

BUILD IT YOURSELF
Or I'll build it for you.

ganzey

banned
aha. That is much cheaper. Is that company reliable? I have read many reviews of ibuypower saying they sucked.\