Another Noobie here

APM98

I'm trying to build my own comp. I've been researching for a bit and i know most of the parts that r needed but im not sure of the brands that r good and what to stay away from. I will mostly use it for gaming. Im not a hardcore gamer, just something to play Unreal and Halo2 on. I just want something simple and not too expensive for now, cause I will def. be upgrading all the time. Because I have nothing right now I just want to get the basics to run my first built comp. then save and get a better vid card or cpu.

I was looking at AMD 3000+ or 3200+, Maybe a ATI 9550 (I can get cheap ATI stuff from my work, 9550 for 77), Seagate 120GB, 512 or 1 GB Ram (Dont know whats good here) And i guess a standard mobo to go with the AMD

I just want a gamers "starter kit". haha

I'm still learning so thank you for the time to look this over

The_Other_One

VIP Member
Why not go to newegg or tigerdirect and look for a good barebones kit? YOu could probably find a decent mobo/case/power supply to get your started. Just make sure it's Socket 939 and not 754 if you plan to upgrade...

As for the video card...eh, that's not much of one...nor is a wonderful deal. Check out newegg, they have that card there for the same price, some a few bucks cheaper! Also, you might want to consider PCIe seeing as you plan to upgrade, unless you plan to just redo the WHOLE computer, and not just purchase a few components...

alanuofm

VIP Member
Sapphire Atlantis Radeon 9600 Pro Advantage AGP 8X 128MB DDR Video Card w/TV-Out & DVI ***Free 2nd Day***
only $75.99 can't beat that.

i would go with an MSI, asus, DFI or gigabyte motherboard.
i would go with 1 gb of either corsair or ocz ram.

Praetor

Administrator
Staff member
, just something to play Unreal and Halo2 on
Halo2 is only for XBOX now

Maybe a ATI 9550 (I can get cheap ATI stuff from my work, 9550 for 77),