antivirus program question

ketanco

the computer repair shop near me suggested a program called avira, for antivirus. i had mcaffee for years but i want to try a free program if possible. does anyone have experience with this program avira? and what do you think of it?

johnb35

Administrator
Staff member
Not very many people use it. Most people use Windows Defender thats built into the lastest operating systems. I use Avast and highly recommend it. Just make sure you do a custom install of Avast if you decide to go with it and only check the file, web, and behavior shields. If you use a third party email program then also check mail shield. Leave all the others unchecked. BitDefender free is also top rated.

Darren

Staff member
I used to work in a shop selling it. It's pretty decent, I'd use it over McAfee or Norton any day. Used to sell Avast too but I'd probably pick Avira if I had to use one, Avast has given me a lot of issues lately for customer computers and overall it's kinda pushy with notifications and unnecessary features.

Agent Smith

I have used them all. Avast is bloat, Avira turned into crap and is a living bitch to uninstall. McCarefree and Norton are trash. Really, they are. If you want a definition-based anti-virus (which they all are) then I suggest Bitdefender Free. It's lightweight and cloud-based so that it can help mitigate polymorphic malware, i.e ransomware. But definition-based anti-virus solutions are NOT full proof and polymorphic malware can slip though. So if you use an anti-virus, I would check out Sandboxie for your browser. It's free for the browser only. The only caveat is that with the free version after 30 days when you launch your browser with Sandboxie it will have you wait 5 seconds. Small price to pay for free. If you wanted to buy it it's an annual fee and hell if I'm paying that. If it was a one time fee I'd buy it.