building my own PC

mapollo

OK so the components I ordered should be here today. I'm thinking I may have a go at assembling it myself but the snag is I have no experience other than fitting a CD-RW in my present set up.

Is there a decent general guide online that I could use just to help me get started? Is this something that you would recommend doing?

If I Google for an online guide I get lots of choices but is there one guide that you recommend.

David....

apj101

VIP Member
There are no one guides that are going to fit all your requirment, just read a lot of them and make sure you are comformatable with how to install each component. If your not usre how to install you cpu fan per say, then a) read instructions and b) look on line for some guidance in installing that particular component. It is a really simple process, jst make sure you are comfortabl with each step and dont force anything.

oh and number one on the list - EARTH yourself, touch something big and metal, eg a fridge. Better still keep in constant contact with something big and metal, maybe you case, or a different computer case. It is so easy to fry your new bits with the static you generate just moving around. On that note dont wear wool or shell suit ha ha :)

post back tell to us how you got on

mapollo

apj101 said:
post back tell to us how you got on

A little update. All the bits arrived as expected and I spent about a couple of hours fitting the Moby,Processor,heat sink and fan ,Video card and Ram. All seems good so far.
I'm stuck a bit now as I have to back up Data onto CDR from the two IDE hard drives in my current system that I am going to use in the new installation.

But a question about FAT 32 and NTSC (?). What system should I use. The two IDE drives that I will use in my new system are currently FAT32 in my present system.

Thanks.

LittleHoov