difference between a bus and a trace?

kaseli

So I'm studying to get my A+ certification and they say that 'traces' are the copper pathways that are etched into the motherboard which the electricity flows through.

And when I tried to find out what 'busses' physically look like, the only thing I could find was a Yahoo answer saying that they basically are traces, not particularly different from all the other traces on a motherboard.

So my question is, what then is the difference between a trace and a bus?

voyagerfan99

Master of Turning Things Off and Back On Again
Staff member
The bus connects components together like the CPU and the memory.

kaseli

The bus connects components together like the CPU and the memory.

Right. This is what I've read. But then does the bus refer simply to a single specific trace or a specific collection of traces? Because the traces are what connect everything on the motherboard, yes?

Or are busses not traces? If not, what do they look like?

kaseli

Sorry, that didn't really help and kind of just made me more confused.

But I did some more google searching and I think I'm just going to stick with the idea that traces are a more general term than busses, and that busses are something like specific traces.

http://books.google.com/books?id=GZ...onepage&q=what are motherboard traces&f=false

"In Chapter One, PC Basics, I talked about the five primary busses of the computer system. These traces are the physical implementation of those busses on the motherboard."

beers

Staff member
A trace is physical.
A bus is logical.

If you referenced something like the 'Front Side Bus' which would be more applicable to legacy type systems, you would use a variety of traces on the MB but the signaling/capacity on top of it would be your 'bus'.

Last edited:

kaseli

A trace is physical.
A bus is logical.