Fan wiring burned+PC on fritz=HELP

biggy

Hello fellow forum users! I am a new member with a very large problem. You see my PC shut down while I was away from it. When I returned to find it switched off, I made every attempt to switch it back on. When I eventually did, large plumes of smoke came from the case. I plugged it out and found that all the wiring of the fan had been burned right through, nothing else except the fan wiring. Now that I have replaced the fan the PC switches on, CD drive etc (lights come on) but nothing more. Monitor does not turn on, nothing loads! What can it be. Is it CPU, Motherboard memory! I built this PC myself so it is my pride and joy, but now I do not have skills to fix it. PLEASE HELP people, all knowledege and advice grateously recieved. Many thanks for your help. Big's ;)

jbones

I don't know but..

Jbones here,
I'm no expert just so you know up front but if the fan or somthing related failed and caused it to overheat while you were away something else may have suffered heat damage also. I don't know how many fans you have or how long it ran like that but you probably got it restarted after it had a chance to cool back down somewhat. Then whatever component in the fan or wiring that failed the first time reburned and you saw the smoke again.
Are you sure you don't see any other signs of burning or melting anywhere? If you can't get anywhere with it you'll have to get the components tested to start a process of elimination as to the cause. Jbones.

P.S. Hope someone turns the light out in this place when they leave.

Lax

VIP Member