Hardrive For My Mobo

joelkyr

Im a new system builder, I just want to ask if somebody can tell me the specs. of hardrive that I should get, the manual says:

-2 x UltraDMA 100/66/33
-2 x Serial ATA, RAID 0,1 function

I planning to get a 200gb of hardrive and Im confuse which one to get.

Praetor

Administrator
Staff member
Nice thing about your motherboard is that it doesnt matter what 200GB drive you get whether it's SATA or ATA/100 or ATA/133 ... they will all fit! :) You'll probably want the SATA model because of the higher theoretical performane of the drive :)

Praetor

Administrator
Staff member
LOL glad to clear it up for you :) Realistically unless you're a power user you wont notice much of a difference between say a 200GB SATA and 200GB PATA (i.e., "old school") drive and depending on how much cheaper the PATA drive is, that might be a better deal :)

Grimulus

Honestly, I would get just the regular ATA . They are cheaper and really you aren't going to see a whole pissload of difference in the 2. My friend paid 150bucks or whatever for his Western Digital 40gb SATA drive and i paid 110 bucks for my 160gb Seagate. And he might load a level about 1 second faster than me if he does that, we basically have the same comp but mine is a little faster, so it's an even race and i have a "cheap" harddrive compared to his. Long story short, I won't be buying SATA until they are affordable for my poor ass. But if you've got the money, go for the SATA, but if you get the other you won't have to worry about having time to whine about it being to slow between levels or whatever you want to do with that thing. :p

Praetor

Administrator
Staff member
Serial ATA is the new standard, it improves over ATA by allowing more MB/s.
Most hard drives do not use this feature yet, but it is better for the future and they increase airflow as the cables are thinner.