help reformating hard drive

csi1189

so i'm in need of reformatting my laptop's hard drive. it's a dell inspiron 1100 with winxp home. i'll be loading the same os back onto it. however, i've looked all over the web and can't really find a good guide for reformatting on a laptop that doesn't have a floppy drive. can someone please give me a good step by step guide, as this is my first time going through this process. Thanks all.

Trizoy

VIP Member
Just pop the cd in, and when the computer is loading press f2. Go into the bios and make the cd boot first. Restart computer and follow the windows prompts. It will allow you to partition and format the drive. MAKE SURE YOU BACKUP EVERYTHING YOU WANT..

csi1189

ok, so i've successfully reformatted and i'm working on reinstalling programs/putting back all my data, but now there's a bit of an annoyance every time i start up. there's a message asking me which os i want to boot. as if there's 2 installed. but both say winxp home ed. why is this showing? everything else is fine, so i'd like to do everything i can before i go and reformat again. thanks.

Trizoy

VIP Member
csi1189 said:
ok, so i've successfully reformatted and i'm working on reinstalling programs/putting back all my data, but now there's a bit of an annoyance every time i start up. there's a message asking me which os i want to boot. as if there's 2 installed. but both say winxp home ed. why is this showing? everything else is fine, so i'd like to do everything i can before i go and reformat again. thanks.

Well this means you did not reformat, but you re installed over the to... Well you have the old one and the new one... You can go here.. right click on my computer, properties, advanced tab, "startup and recovery" click the settings button, and then click the edit button... Paste that in here in the forum, and i will tell you how to edit it... this is what mine looks like.

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS