How can I speed things up?

ogetnom27

I'm a newbie here, so please understand if that looks painfully obvious in some of my questions.I do a lot of surfing on the net.Yahoo Instant messaging,mailing photos and links as well as music downloads,shopping on e-bay and other e-tailers etc... At times my computer seems to really slow down while going from site to site,to yahoo mail and back and forth from the net to my mail. :mad: I have a high speed cable(Comcast) connection,anti-spy ware,anti-virus,and firewall protection.I do notice that after I re-start(which takes almost 8 minutes) things do speed up.My computer is a Dell 4500 Dimension 1.8ghz pentium4 w/ 128 RAM.It's about 2 1/2 yrs old OS system is xp .What can I do to speed things up in those areas.Also I do have Kazaa Plus and I've heard from some that it's like a form of spyware in sheeps clothing.If you need any other info please let me know.Sign me,
Bogged down in Boston

Last edited:

Rambo

Hey Ogetnom.

Are you running Windows XP?? The average computer nowadays should have atleast 256 MB RAM, and windows recommends having 256 MB RAM and up (i have 512) if you are running XP.... Have you ran any adware/spyware porgrams, like 'Ad-Aware' and 'Spybot - Search and Destroy'. Although, with a computer like yours, it shouldn't take 8 minutes to reboot... :confused:

You could run a program called 'HiJackThis' which give a detailed file of everything and anything running on your computer at that time. If you ask someone like Lorand he can look at it and tell you if you about all the junk that's running on your PC (he did it for me).

Ad-Aware - http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/

Spybot - Search and Destroy - http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_description/0,fid,22262,00.asp

HiJackThis - http://www.spychecker.com/program/hijackthis.html

Copy and paste the HiJackThis file (if it is too big to copy and paste as one post, post the rest on a second).

:)

R3D

heyy