How to change permissions, Have no admin permissions

irishluck

So Im lost. Every time I try to rename or create a folder on my PC I have to have " admin permission" to do so.
But I dont understand because my account is the only account on my computer and im an admin on it.

When I go into the security settings in a folder though to change this, There are 2 account that are on here that I dont understand who or what they are.

How do I remove them and just be signed in my actual admin account?
I only have 1 account to log into. The bottom 2 users in the picture ill attach is what I dont understand on why they are on my PC.

Thanks

Attachments

• 34etyrgf.JPG
    34etyrgf.JPG
    41.6 KB · Views: 8

Okedokey

Reason, previous installations - inherited permissions SSIDs.

Fix: take ownership of your disks, files etc. Key point, after you take ownership of all your files and folders, you'll be able to remove the anomalies security entries. Add the Take Ownership function to your context / right click menu.

1661668464378.png

Before starting, I'd also suggest a quick restore point being make prior

1. Press Win+ S to open Windows search.
  2. Type restore point and then click on Create a Restore Point option from the search results.
  3. Under the Protection Settings section, check if Protection is set to ON for your Windows (C: (System) drive.
  4. If not, select the drive and click on Configure.
  5. Select Turn on System protection.
  6. Next, set a disk space usage using the slider.
  7. Click Apply and OK to save the changes.

HOW TO DO IT,
  • Create a new text file on your desktop and copy the below text into it, save it as reg file, e.g. "Enable Take Ownership.reg" rather than .txt
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

; created by Okedokey
; for irishluck
; article: https://www.computerforum.com/threa...have-no-admin-permissions.249029/post-2079294

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shell\runas]
@="Take Ownership"
"NoWorkingDirectory"=""