Need laptop .. What is the best laptop u suggest for 1150€ in Europe..

ahmad

I'm a newbie here and need help because this will be my first time buying laptop.
I've been reading this sites but looks like most of u guys are in US (CMIIW) because I can't even find any SAGER here in europe (i'm in madrid now for study).
And now I really do need laptop to help my study but I'm in a thight budget around 1200€ and the sooner I get the laptop is better.

I've gone to many PC store here and I found many types of laptop but I don't know which one is better than the other. I'm pretty critical on what to buy because I really want this to be a very worthed spending.

Since it's only around 1150€ (IMHO +- 1500 US$) I don't expect much from the specification, but I just want to get the best from that amount of money.

Maybe it'll be around:

Centrino Dothan 1.6 will be enough
512 RAM
DVD CDRW
60GB

I'm still confuse about the LCD screen. I'm thinking of 14" because I assume it'll be lighter. But I also want 15'4" because I will also use it as a TV (with TV tuner).

Graphic card:
hmm .. hoping that I can get ATI 9700 64mb .. but if the budget doesn't fit then Intel64MB would be just find.

I really2 do expect help here. Which brand is good or bad or anything.
Any suggestion would be really appreciated.

Oh ya, another thing that I maybe will tavel also to Germany next year .. so I'm thingking of Int'l warranty or minimal European warranty.

Thanks again.

mkl

I'm looking everywhere for a laptop too recently. Though I dunno anything about european laptops I do have some laptops that fits your description (which is about the same as mine). These laptops are all below $1500 US but I dunno if they will be the same price in Europe.
Toshiba M30X self customized costs about $1350, and it has ati 9700 64 mb. Just check out toshibadirect.com
The Compaq X1000 costs about $1370, but it only has ati 9200 64 mb, though it has a faster hard drive (5400 rpm) hpshopping.com