Noob advice wanted on desktop buy

graeme01

Advice wanted on desktop buy

Just after some advice on wether or not to buy this

I want to replace my dads computer for him as its getting out of date now.

I have seen this: http://www.ebuyer.com/251310-zoostorm-desktop-7873-1036

JUst wondering if its good value for money. He's not going to be using it for anything major just web browsing and file storage really. I think the processor he has atm is roughly 2.1 ghz so obviously this would be a big improvement but im just wondering if its a collaboration of cheap parts and is the cpu actually any good as the cache seems to be quite low but im not an expert. I will be using it for occasional solidworks but that will probally be the most labour nintensive task.
I know the lack of OS will bring the price down a lot but this isnt a problem i can get windows 7 sorted for it.

Any guidance is appreciated
Thanks

Last edited:

johnb35

Administrator
Staff member
Doesn't come with an operating system so you will need to purchase one. Its already outdated technology as its a slot 775 processor and board, does have ddr3 memory though. The big thing here is its a no name brand pc and that in itself is a deal killer. My advice would be to stay away from it.

graeme01

cheers for the reply

What would you recommend then?