pc building question

tboski123

ok, i got a asus a8v deluxe barebones and this is my first time installing so i was wondering, i only plan on one hd for the moment and it is sata (so no raid). should i hook it to the promise sata or the via sata(i think it said the promise was automatic to do raid, but i don't know about the via). also, i just plan to do one optical dvd/cd drive, so should i use the primary or secondary ide mobo slot and should the jumper be on master. thanks!

Blue

<b>VIP Member</b>
should i hook it to the promise sata or the via sata(i think it said the promise was automatic to do raid, but i don't know about the via).

Should say in your mother board manual.

i just plan to do one optical dvd/cd drive, so should i use the primary or secondary ide mobo slot and should the jumper be on master. thanks!

It dont hurt to try it :). I really dont see y not but of course you can plug it into the second channel anyway. as far as the jumper goes it's basicly what else your plugging into that ide chain but since it sounds like there'll be nothing else then Master would be fine and recommended.

dsu2004

1. You will do better to use the non-RAID SATA controller if you do not plan to use RAID - that way you bypass unnecessary RAID hardware and may get slightly better performance (remember to disable the RAID controller in the BIOS ). Use the 80-wire cable for the hard drive. If the IDE cable is marked "master" & "slave", then put your hard drive jumper to CSEL (cable select) - otherwise put your hard drive to MASTER.

2. Use the 40-wire cable for CDROM drive. If the optical drive is a burner(CD or DVD) or combo(burner cum DVD) or even a plain vanilla DVDROM drive, jumper it as "MASTER" (if the 40-wire cable is not marked, as above, else "CSEL" if the cable is marked "MASTER" & "SLAVE").

tboski123