pc slow down

murphy0207

hello newbie here

my pc goes slow about a week after a re-master. i just done a re-master 6 days ago and defrag every night and pc still starts to run slow i download torrents somtimes but would of thought defrag would stop it from running slow.the hard drive is 110gb but i rarely use more than about 30-40gb .anybody with advice would be great.

packard bell

16x dvd-rw
4x dvd rw
512 ddr ram
110 hd
radeon 9100 igp 128mb graphics
p4 2.4ghz
xp home sp2
:confused:

Bobo

banned
murphy0207 said:
how do i inrease it i cant see anyway of doing it

You don't increase the cache, it is built in.

Unless you buy a new hdd...

Or it might not be that, but I cant figure what else might be causing it to run so slow

What type of ram do you have? And how many sticks?

murphy0207

2 x 256 ddr ram but when itried to find out some software said it was only 384mb of ram in total(detected) now i'm more confused :confused: :confused: :confused:

Bobo

banned
murphy0207 said:
2 x 256 ddr ram but when itried to find out some software said it was only 384mb of ram in total(detected) now i'm more confused :confused: :confused: :confused:

Your system (i think) is apparently using 128MB for integrated gfx, is that what you have?

????I dunno???

murphy0207

ahhhhhhhhhhh i understand now. (brain clicked in now)
so really only buying a new hard drive will resolve the problem . which is a shame as i dont even use halve of the 110gb anyway

cheers bobo :eek:

Bobo

banned
murphy0207 said:
ahhhhhhhhhhh i understand now. (brain clicked in now)
so really only buying a new hard drive will resolve the problem . which is a shame as i dont even use halve of the 110gb anyway

cheers bobo :eek:

I don't get what you understand...I'm totally confused now :eek:

murphy0207

Bobo said:
I don't get what you understand...I'm totally confused now :eek: