performance issues on a source game

sobral97

hello
I've been playing this game called Team Fortress 2 for almost 10 years. I started with a very bad laptop, but at the time it could handle the game quite well
With the passing of the years, more and more content has been added without proper optimization of the game's engine, which has led to performance drops to a lot of players
I really enjoy the game, so last year I decided to upgrade my system. I built one with a i7-10700F, RTX 3060 TI, 2x16GB 3200Mhz DDR4 RAM. Also bought a 1TB SSD and a 165hz monitor, but I don't think that affects performance much
I'm very happy with this system, I can play pretty much any triple A game at 60fps on the highest settings, some even at 90fps. I thought this was it, I wouldn't have to buy anything else anytime soon
Imagine my surprise when I install TF2 and still can't play it without using third party performance configs. It's unbelievable. I'm at 300fps with everything on high, all of a sudden I drop to 80-90 when there's 6-7 players on the screen. And even using a performance config, which makes the game look terrible, the FPS still drop a lot, not as much but I can tell the difference when they drop, because they go below the monitor's refresh rate and everything becomes blurry and stuttery

What I don't understand is that I can play other source games very well without configs. I play CSGO with the highest settings on everything except shadows on medium, and Im always at 200+ fps with no drops. Same thing with Left 4 Dead 2, although in that one everything is on the highest possible setting, and I still get those 200+ fps