so I decided to build my first computer...

panther05

Two weeks ago I knew very little about computer hardware. But then I grew sick of my emachines celeron 466mhz 64ram 6.4GB junk (was taking 15 minutes just to power it up and waking up my parents when the fans would turn on) so I decided to just read and learn about building my own PC to save some money (as I am a student and have a crappy job)

so I did hours and hours of research and last night I bought the main components from newegg. Here's the list of the things I ordered:

ASUS 'P5GD1' 915P Chipset Motherboard For Intel LGA 775
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Video Card PCI-express
CPU P4/2.8 GHz HT 800M LGA775 520
One Crucial 184 Pin 512MB ECC DDR PC-3200

I guess reason I'm posting is to hear comfort that these components will work well together. I intended to buy a much cheaper PC (for $300-400 complete) but now i'm the tab is gonna be around $700 or so. I'm so broke, but oh well, this computer will be my life pretty much.

Aslo, I only bought one 512 ram, should I get another one?

And lastly, I've never build a PC before and I don't have any friends or family that can help. I've googled and found a bunch of online tutorials - do you guys think I should be fine?

And what about installing the processor onto the motherboard, I hear it's difficult. I bought this little anti-static wrist-strap that hopefully will work. But is it really as hard as some people say?

Well..I should be receiving my order either Tuesday or Wednesday, so if anything is wrong with my set-up, let me know and I can still return components.

Thanks for the help.

panther05

oh and I forgot to add...

I'm not much of a gamer (although I might get Doom3)...the computer will be mainly used for A LOT of internet, microsoft office applications (excel, word, etc), picture editing (Adobe PS), animation software, some video/music editing, and a some accounting programs.

heinzbitte