Sticky: Official CPU-Z Benchmark Thread

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by Darren, Sep 29, 2016.

  1. Darren

    Darren Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,161
    I tried 4.1 and it couldn't even boot into Windows and then kept crashing the BIOS so fast I couldn't change it back. Had to CMOS reset.

    Think I'll stick with 4.0 for now. :)
     
    C4C likes this.
  2. C4C

    C4C Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,884
    YESSSSS. My record is safe!

    That's awesome that it's pushing out that performance at that clock speed. Surprised that even your 1700 doesn't wanna clock up any more..
     
  3. Deadpool

    Deadpool Active Member

    Messages:
    625
    Well it did better than I expected... Still a lot worse than the average bench. Should be 1150 (s) and 3600(m). That thing is way too old.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. MisterEd

    MisterEd Member

    Messages:
    91
    You said 1700X stock. I have 1700X stock but my Core Speed is lower. What's the difference?
    Also, RAM 16GB (2x8GB) 2600 MHz @2133 MHz.
    [​IMG]image hosting site
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2017
  5. lucasbytegenius

    lucasbytegenius Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,536
    I think XFR (enabled by default) was kicking in in my tests, giving me 300Mhz above the stock speed. I see it affecting your clock too, you're at 100Mhz above stock speed of 3400Mhz.

    New score, 4.1GHz stable, crashed if I tried anything even 25Mhz above that. I don't want to run it at 1.515v all the time though even though XFR kicks it up there sometimes in the default state. Probably going to stick with 4.0GHz and under 1.4v if I can make it work.

    [​IMG]
     
    Darren likes this.
  6. MisterEd

    MisterEd Member

    Messages:
    91
    1700X specs: Base 3.4GHz, Turbo 3.8GHz, XFR 3.8GHz+. At the default system configuration XFR allows the 1700X will go higher than 3.8GHz if it thinks it can safely do so.

    Normally my 1700X bounces between 2195.55 MHz (x22) and 3492.92 MHz (x35). That is because of the "balanced" power setting I am using. Occasionally it will jump up to 3892.11 MHz (x39).

    I think your 1700X is clocking a little higher than mine because you have a better cooler. You have a H110i while I only have a H60.
     
  7. Darren

    Darren Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,161
    You should definitely be doing better than that. Your scoring lower than me at stock clocks, which just flat isn't right. Are you on a clean install of Windows, basically a requirement for new motherboard and CPU platforms.
     
  8. lucasbytegenius

    lucasbytegenius Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,536
    Don't use Balanced, use High Performance. Balanced parks your cores.

    And yeah I bet my cooler has a small part to play in it :D I had to buy a new case to fit this massive thing, and it barely fits in my new case (S340). that's what she said
     
  9. MisterEd

    MisterEd Member

    Messages:
    91
    I installed Windows 10 Pro from a USB flash drive to a SSD drive (NVME M.2). This is my first Windows 10 build.

    I experimented with setting the multiplier manually and then letting TPU configure things. Using TPU resulted in a lower clock speed but I got a higher Bench score with CPU-Z. I noticed that my Single Thread score (2393 vs 2367) is similar to yours but my Multi Thread is lower 16180 vs 20427). Also my Multi Thread Ratio is lower ( 7.76 vs 8.63). Do you think your better cooling is making a difference? Your RAM is faster but I would not think that would make a difference with a CPU test.
    =======================
    Set in BIOS
    Custom CPU Core Ratio: Manual
    TPU: Keep Current Settings
    CPU Core Ratio: 40.0X
    CPU Speed: 4000 MHz
    -----------------------
    CPU-Z CPU
    Multiplier: 40X
    Core Speed: 3992 MHz
    CPU-Z Bench
    CPU Single Thread: 2231
    CPU Multi Thread: 15244
    =======================
    Set in BIOS
    Custom CPU Core Ratio: Auto
    TPU: TPU II
    CPU Core Ratio: 38.25X
    CPU Speed: 3825 MHz
    -----------------------
    CPU-Z CPU
    Multiplier: 38.25
    Core Speed: 3817 MHz
    CPU-Z Bench
    CPU Single Thread: 2393
    CPU Multi Thread: 16180
    =======================
     
  10. MisterEd

    MisterEd Member

    Messages:
    91
    I have a AMD Ryzen 1700X. After I ran the ran the Bench I selected Submit and Compare. The web browser opened with the results shown. Unfortunately this caused a hard crash on my computer. It took me several minutes to get the computer to boot again. Is the problem caused by CPU-Z being not fully compatible with Ryzen yet?
     
  11. beers

    beers Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,484
    Probably from this part:
     
  12. MisterEd

    MisterEd Member

    Messages:
    91
    Could be but in my case no. It crashed even if I set the Ryzen 1700X to its default speed of of 3.4GHz.
    It turned out that my default browser Firefox doesn't like the upload results page for CPU-Z. If I change the default browser to Internet Explorer then I have no problems opening that page with CPU-Z and viewing the results.
     
  13. lucasbytegenius

    lucasbytegenius Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,536
    I run my 1700X at 4GHz stable.
    Here's your problem. Use Chrome.
     
  14. Darren

    Darren Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,161
    Now that I have some stable RAM I got up to 3.9GHz at 20K points. Runs exact same voltage and temps from 3.6GHz to 3.9GHz, very odd scaling with these chips. Will update leaderboard within a day or two. 3_9 20K.PNG
     
  15. MisterEd

    MisterEd Member

    Messages:
    91
    I don't know if your 1700 will go any higher than 3.9GHz but my 1700X highest stable speed is 4.0GHz. It hard crashes 4.05GHz.

    In your first post you said that "only members with 50 posts or more will be listed in the leaderboard". Does that mean a person has to upload a benchmark result 50 times before they are eligible to be on the leaderboard? If so then that would explain why my results have not shown up. BTW, why haven't any Ryzen results shown up on the CPU-Z leaderboard yet?
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2017
  16. C4C

    C4C Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,884
    Darren has to manually update the leaderboards by making a new chart. You have 73 posts aka "Messages" so you are eligible to be posted when he updates it.
     
  17. Darren

    Darren Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,161
    I'm just behind on it. It'll be up likely later tonight.
     
  18. Richard200100

    Richard200100 New Member

    Messages:
    1
  19. _Glitch

    _Glitch Active Member

    Messages:
    345
    Ehhh.... ok. I see some of your specs, but you haven't completed the CPU-Z benchmark. You know, what this hole tread is about.

    I can see this is your first post. I'll say welcome to the forum. Glad to have you. But how about introducing yourself first.
     
    Darren likes this.
  20. MisterEd

    MisterEd Member

    Messages:
    91
    Still no Ryzen benchmark scores :(
     

Share This Page