$400 build, thoughts?

onipar

Had a few 720. Pretty good processor for a C2 stepping. See if it will unlock to a quad. Pretty sure that Gigabyte has ACC to unlock cores.

Good to hear. Yeah, I was going to try for the fourth core and also try to overclock. I've never done either before, but I figure it's worth a shot.

Mosely22

You got it. Once everything arrives I'll build it out and take pics. I wanted to add a slide show of my building the computer to add to the desktop as part of the gift anyway, so they can see I didn't just buy them a computer. :D

yo that would be awesome!!! the sticky that has the step-by-step instructions doesnt have pics anymore...it would be great for newbs like myself. if you can do it, please do!

onipar

A little update. My brother and I started on the build yesterday. We only had a couple hours though (and be new at this) we didn't expect to get very far. We got everything installed, but did not have time to wire or test it yet.

There were a few bumps in the road along the way. The first was unexpected: we had a lot of trouble mounting the extra fan. At first I thought it was me, but after reading some reviews of the case I purchased, I discovered it was due to poor design. The front intake mount has incorrectly sized holes for the fan, which made it impossible to mount. And then the motherboard blocks the two top mounted sections.

1203111547.jpg

The only other major problem we encountered is that I installed the heatsink facing the wrong direction (fan facing up/down instead of left/right). I felt pretty stupid about that, but I guess it's an easy fix.

So up next is reinstalling the heatsink, wiring everything up, and installing the OS.

1203111655.jpg

Last edited:

Benny Boy

:good: on the pics.
So up next is reinstalling the heatsink, wiring everything up, and installing the OS.