64 bit gaming PC (legacy question)

ryf

Who has a new pentium D or better pc with the new 64 bit XP?

I'm new to site old to computers, and am seriously wanting to try this new technology....maybe....
I am looking for some peoples experiences on backwards compatibilty with games like battlefield vietnam/ battlefield 2, far cry, GTA series....

I remember when we went from 16 to 32 bit and some things did and some didnt work... anyone tasted this new technology and tried it with some "last years" games titles?

ryf

hmmm, I'm really looking for someone who's tried it. I do alot of video work, so the 64 bit sounds like something I'd be into, I also like playing alot of games, so I don't want to not be able to, is there alot of performance loss using a 32 bit OS on a 64 bit system?

Geoff

VIP Member
I've used XP Pro x64 and the regular XP Pro. Performance wise, I don't notice a difference, but I only used it for general tasks and gaming. High end video, audio, photo, and other rendering/editing app may utilize it more.

There are alot of downsides to XP Pro x64, the main thing being that there are tons of driver and app problems, meaning that alot of them wont work on XP Pro x64, and even fewer that actually take advantage of it.

If you want my opinion, I would stay away from the XP Pro x64, and wait until Vista before buying a 64 Bit OS.

ryf

Any thoughts on which one of these will be "better" for mixed use and gaming

ASRock CONROE945PL-GLAN Core 2 Duo/ 945PL/ DDR2/ A&GbE/ ATX
CPU: E6300 Core 2 Duo
hd: 160SATA
memory2: T667UB1G_M
memory: T667UB1G_M

OR

ASRock 775DUAL-880PRO LGA775/PT880Pro/DDR1+DDR2/PCI-Express
CPU: Intel Pentium D 940 Dual Core 3.2GHz 800MHz 2x2MB
hd: 160SATA
memory2: T667UB1G_M
memory: T667UB1G_M

Any suggestions for a good Mid level ($100-150) graphics card??

Geoff

VIP Member
Don't buy the 775Dual unless you already have DDR and an AGP card, your much better off going with a full PCI-E x16 slotted motherboard.

ryf

noted,