A question about Computer slowing down...

SemiDevil

Hello All,

This is my first time posting, hopefully everyone is nice:D

I have a few questions I need to know about computers.

1) I have been told that you shouldn't turn off your computers all the time and just let them stay on and maybe once in a while turn them off.

My question is, if I leave my computer on for more than three days or two days, and I try to do something, my computer just drags. Everything becomes really slow. I want to know why is that?

When my computer is on for three days, typically, I dont' run anything. I'm not burning, or downloading or whatever. I just let it sit there. But two or three days later, its just slow.

I have a Hewlett-Packard Pavilion Intel (R) Pentium (R) 4 CPU 2.5GHz 512 MB of ram.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

bigsaucybob

1. Its not bad to leave your computer on, but im sure its always nice to give it a break

2. Your comp might be slow after leaving it on for a long time because its underclocking itself to save power, im not sure but sounds logical

PC eye

banned
If you haven't monitored temps at all one possible reason for seeing it slow is the extended period it would be running where the temps are at their highest.
When you shutdown after a few hours of use the temps are just about average at that time where things run normal. There are some good utilities for keeping tabs on temps and voltages as well. Some are even freewares.

magicman

VIP Member
It never hurts to put an extra fan in the case, and may help your problem. I would always recommend extra cooling if the case has room for it.

Just remember to plan the airflow inside the case so that there are as few air blocks as possible and make sure you have the same amount of airflow into the case as out of it.

SemiDevil

Awesome....

I'll try to get another fan..