Advice on parts swaping

sancho907

Hello,

I'm a computer novice so here goes

I just purchased a computer bundle linked here

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsuppor...c=us&objectID=c01852859&jumpid=reg_R1002_USEN

it came with AMD Sempron LE-1200 single core processor which i'm finding does not fit my needs.

It came with a Narr5 GL6 motherboard linked here
and 250W power supply

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...70&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&product=3970030&lang=en

My questions

1. can i just drop in any of the processors listed as supported by the motherboard's AM2+ socket and expect it to operate?

2. if processors are not a plug and play item what (for my own understanding) do i need to look at for compatibility and performance

3. Can you suggest what processors would would be a cost effective swap short of purchasing a new motherboard

I am a novice and have been doing a little research but really do not have an understanding of how computers are built.

ooh... almost forgot bought the computer due to low black Friday pricing but the application that i'm currently having problems with is playing Dragon Age Origins

Can i upgrade to a 2-3-4 core with my current setup? i'm not looking for top notch gaming but as of current the game lags and task manager shows my current processor running at 100% at all times when gaming

Thank you for your time and any help

David

sancho907

I Just tried calling the HP people (1-800-474-6836) and they will not (with attitude!) provide any technical advice on compatibility without the specific units serial #