advice re: bridging subnets?

cdatgnp

I want to bridge subnets from remote locations over the Internet, so that network devices in those separate subnets virtually reside in the same subnet. Communication over the Internet needs to be encrypted and secure.

The crux is that these subnets are behind dynamic IP addresses, so I would need a reliable way to create the connection, say through a server with a FQDN. Best would be if the FQDN server could establish a connection between the other subnets and allow the bridged clients to transfer data directly between eachother without using the server's bandwidth, like peer-to-peer.

Can anyone suggest a way to go about this? FYI I'm not an IT pro but I like to learn, muddle around with scripting and programming now and then, and am recently getting my feet wet in Linux.

Cromewell

Administrator
Staff member
I'm trying to understand exactly what you're asking for. Do you have remote sites you need to tunnel to a central location? And your remote sites have dynamic IPs? The IP issue is relatively simple to work around.

Realistically, if you need the remote sites to talk directly to each other, have them communicate with your server to obtain the current IP address (say daily or whatever your DHCP lease is for) and update the IP they need to talk to in whatever application you are running. Since all the sites sound like they are visible to the internet you don't need to worry about updating routing tables or anything like that.

To encrypt the traffic, just use VPN.

cdatgnp

Cromewell and beers, thanks for the feedback! I'm not sure that either site is visible from the Internet, as they're both behind routers.