Affordable Gaming computer build

gdupm6

Hey guys, im new to this forum so id like to introduce myself. I see that alot of you are very knowledgeable about computer hardware and software and builds, so i was looking for some advice. I have basic knowledge about computer hardware and software, but and im learning as i read and research.

The computer i have now is pretty outdated its a dell dimension 4600. Yeah i know...

I recently bought battlefield 2 and tried running it and it was very slow and choppy. Its really not worth spending any more money on this computer so i want to invest in a new gaming rig.

My budget is around $500-$800 and I need your guys advice and opinion as to what parts to invest in to make the best possible build for my budget. All thoughts are welcome. Thank you.

Btw im in sherman oaks, CA if that helps. Anyone from out here that can maybe recommend something?

awildgoose

Well I live in Australia, so I can't help with where to buy or prices, but I can give you a good rig.

Motherboard: Gigabyte EP45-DS4P

Processor: Intel Q6600

Hard Drive: Any 320G

Graphics Card: ASUS 9800GT

Case: Thermaltake Armour

Power Supply: I'm not great with PS, but any 500+ SATA

I'm pretty sure that is everything, someone will probably correct me but.

2048Megabytes

I say you pay someone who is trustworthy and has experience on this site to build a computer for you. Imsati and Stranglehold are members who have knowledge and experience at building good systems.

Irishwhistle

I'd recommend buying your parts from Newegg.com, and if you have a good knowledge of the parts that go into a computer why not build yourself? If you don't have said knowledge learn it... you can learn pretty fast with the help of these forums. :)

gdupm6

I say you pay someone who is trustworthy and has experience on this site to build a computer for you. Imsati and Stranglehold are members who have knowledge and experience at building good systems.