Assembly, how long does it take you?

dennykyser

I am not asking how fast you can do it in a hurry, or for an emergency. If you have all your parts do you put one together over a couple days, or do you sit down and finish it all in a few hours?

This is my first build and the reason I ask is I was just going to purchase a Windows XP Pro Upgrade and use one of my old Win 98 disks to upgrade from. I have since learned that the full OEM version is cheaper and probably a better way to go. However by ordering the oem version wont get here the same day as my newegg order :( and my newegg order gets here on my only day off. However if it takes several days to assemble a computer wont be a big deal on waiting on the OS to get here.

Vampiric Rouge

It depends if you know what your doing or not. If you are good you can do it in a couple hours if not it could be all day i would think at the very longest 2 days to build. If you don't hit any snags then in a couple hours. You can install windows at night like during diner start it and just ever now and then walk by and hit next.

Vampiric Rouge

LlamaTronics said:
yea, if your good, and have done t before it goes quick! I dissembled my computer from 1 case, and re-assembled it in a new case in a little less than 1 hour... and I took pics every step of the way!

Here is the tutorial I made, maybe the rebuilding part would help you!
http://www.llamatronics.com/caseproject/

How do you like the clear cases. I never build with one because i was worryed about how messy it would look. It looks pretty cool from the pics.

LlamaTronics

Thanks... I love them! The only thing I didn't like is there are tons and tons of screws, but thats how its held together... Anyway, I think they are awesome! If you go with a clear case, I highly recomend getting round IDE and Floppy cables though, the ribbons can get ugly! Also, I suggest a clear PSU (which I don't have yet) because that just increases the look!