Can I use a server motherboard to make an awesome desktop?

Aaron Lingo

I am kinda new to making desktops and have been looking all around at many different motherboards and processors. Is it possible to buy a server from ebay that has 2 intel xeons 6 gigs of ram and 6 hdd and turn it into a hardcore gaming, video editing, and designing machine? I know I would have to add a video card and a sound card. Any help would be much appreciated!
this is the server I was looking at
http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-ProLiant-DL380-G4-2x-Intel-Xeon-3-6GHz-1Mb-64bit-6GB-Ram-6x-73GB-15K-SCSI-/110805050045?pt=COMP_EN_Servers&hash=item19cc7ee2bd#ht_12317wt_1185

voyagerfan99

Master of Turning Things Off and Back On Again
Staff member
You won't get the performance because it's a server. Stick with standard desktop mobos and CPU's.

azeem40

Just because it is a server MOBO doesn't mean you will get the same performance benefits than if you were in a server-oriented environment.

voyagerfan99

Staff member

The performance to price ratio is not as good as personal desktop computer components. Servers are meant for massive loads of distributed computing.

Taken from another forum:
Intel-based Servers typically have no 3D accelerated graphic card and no sound hardware. Bigger Servers have a different architecture, which would have to emulate X86-Hardware - probably not fast enough for games.