Canon EOS 1000d or Nikon D3000

Langers2k7

I really can't make my mind up about these two... I'm a newbie to DSLRs, but I'm a keen amateur photographer and have been using a P&S Pentax for a few years, wanting a step-up this Xmas.

I think if I had the Nikon I would miss the live view, but I've heard it's ideal for beginners with built in tutorials etc...

Somebody help me decide? :eek:

Irishwhistle

imho the guide mode really isn't that great on the D3000, but then again I had already had experience with full manual mode when I got my D3000. Even so, I prefer the D3000 over the 1000D.

As far as live view is concerned You probably won't find yourself using it very much (if at all), so you probably shouldn't base your decision on that. I wear glasses all the time when I shoot and I don't mind the lack of live view a bit. Really though, go with your gut feeling, you can't really go wrong either way, both Nikon and Canon are excellent brands.

As I said, I personally prefer the D3000, but that's probably just because that's what I'm used to. :)

So just play around with both cameras if you get the chance and see which you like best.

aviation_man

What are you talking about without the live view? The D3000 does have live view.. Unless you're referring to Recording, then you're right, it doesn't.

Fatback

VIP Member
Shoot I was getting confused with the D5000.... That's just dumb that it doesn't have live..... :mad:

Freaking camera noob:D

I have personally tested the D3000 and I think it is a wonderful camera. I have never used the 1000D but from the reviews I have seen it stakes up nicley to the D3000.

I don't know if this will be any help. You select each camera and you can compare there image quality and stuff.

http://www.imaging-resource.com/IMCOMP/COMPS01.HTM

Langers2k7

Cheers for the input chaps, much appreciated.
As it stands, I can get both cameras within £10 of each other, which only makes it harder :D