Configure IPX

joseph5458

Hi everybody,i need some help, i hope you can help me.
I have two computers networked at home, and i am trying to play some network games on them, but they does not work. I installed the IPX protocol on both computers but i don't know how to configure them. I don't know what Internal Network Number, Frame Type, or Network Number is, and i don't know what numbers go there. I hope you can help me. Thanks!!!! :) :D

P.D. I am a newbie on this networking staff!!!! :)

S_Doherty

Basically, IPX (which stands for Internetwork Packet Exchange) provides logical addressing and internetworking services, VERY similar to IP in TCP/IP...which means that it does not have to agree on standards before it transmits data over the wire. The Internal Network Number involves your MAC address (physical address of your NIC/Wireless card) which serves as your node address. The Network Address (or Number as you stated above) must be an 8 bit hexadecimal address (0-9 A-F) this now becomes the first half of your IPX address.

Last edited:

joseph5458

Hi, thanks for the answer. I have a couple more questions:

Where do i find the MAC Address?
Can i use any number as my network address? (00000001 for the first computer, and 00000002 for the second compouter)
Is Ethernet 802.2 the correct Frame type?

I am using Windows XP Pro and SP1. Thanks.

S_Doherty

Hi, you can find the MAC address if you click Start> Run> cmd (or command) and type IPCONFIG/ALL look for where it says "Physical Address" this is where you will see a 12 character notation...your MAC address...
802.2 is the LLC (logical link control) this provides flow and error control over frames.
As for the network number I feel silly because I cannot recall what the specs are to use this....try entering the numbers that you have suggested....only avoid using 00000000 & FFFFFFFF as these are your network address and broadcast address respectively.
I'll be interested in how you made out...cheers :)

joseph5458