Detecting sata drives with new motherboard?

lynx6200

I am replacing my Abit AV8 socket 939 board with an MSI K8T NEO2-F Socket 939. I have two sata drives that where running in raid 1 on the abit board, so I would like to continue doing so on the new board. I have connected both drives, but when I boot up, they don't seem to be recognized. I've also looked in bios and there doesnt seem to be a place where it displays sata information either, only ide.

I was hoping to boot to the drive/s which already have windows, and simply re-activate. Do I need to re-install windows to get the drives recognized?

Vipernitrox

i'm no expert on raid but i'm not sure if this ever will work.
drives in raid are very picky when you're changing mobo's.
there is a possibility you might lose all the data you have on those hd's.

johnb35

Administrator
Staff member
I am replacing my Abit AV8 socket 939 board with an MSI K8T NEO2-F Socket 939. I have two sata drives that where running in raid 1 on the abit board, so I would like to continue doing so on the new board. I have connected both drives, but when I boot up, they don't seem to be recognized. I've also looked in bios and there doesnt seem to be a place where it displays sata information either, only ide.

I was hoping to boot to the drive/s which already have windows, and simply re-activate. Do I need to re-install windows to get the drives recognized?