Did I get ripped off?

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by bearcat, Oct 5, 2019.

  1. bearcat

    bearcat Member

    Messages:
    50
    This machine was purchase July 3 2019. It was not even on at all for a month during august and early september, because my rich aunt paid to fly me up to new hampshire
    to help care for my parents, who are now dead.

    I'm too depressed to look right now, but I'm pretty certain this thing only had a 30 day warranty, if any.
     
  2. AlienMenace

    AlienMenace Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,043
    Do you know anyone, friends or family members that know about computers. Maybe ask them. Just a thought.
     
  3. bearcat

    bearcat Member

    Messages:
    50
    No, no friends, no family, no money.
    And, it appears as if the HDD is there, and is not damaged:

    HD Tune Pro Error Scan 1.jpg HD tune pro Error Scan 2.jpg
     
  4. Cromewell

    Cromewell Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,377
    Is it configured as a storage space?
    1. Go to the taskbar, type Storage Spaces in the search box, and select Storage Spaces from the list of search results.
    2. Select Change settings > Physical drives to see all the drives in your pool.
    if there's a drive in there, try removing it and see if it shows up
     
  5. AlienMenace

    AlienMenace Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,043
    It's probably never been partition and formatted, just a bare drive. And I know about being on a set income. I wish I can build a new one. I built this one to last 5 years, and now it is 6.5 yrs old. :)
     
  6. bearcat

    bearcat Member

    Messages:
    50
    Screen Shot Storage Space.jpg



    Screen Shot Storage Space 2.jpg
     
  7. bearcat

    bearcat Member

    Messages:
    50
    Is it typical / normal / not something to worry about....if the manufacturer evidently did make the SSD drive useable, but evidently has NOT made this drive useable?

    It came with a few sheets of paper.....but nothing in there says I have to partition and format anything.
    v
    v

    It would be great if you could just go to your local municipality and say, "instead of putting electronics in landfills, let me take them and swap around parts to build
    useful things"

    But that won't work, because the DOUCHES that run computer software and hardware can't make money unless they keep making everything
    incompatible ramming endless "updates" and "upgrades" down our throats.
    Google search the guy sued by Apple for repairing their products as an independent business.

    You can't use old parts, you have to have the NEWEST hardware, because nothing will run unless you have the latest stuff.
    Such BS, such a scam.

    http://www.slackware.com/~msimons/toasternet/
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 13, 2019 at 7:11 PM
  8. johnb35

    johnb35 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    41,743
    Now that the software sees the hard drive can you post a new screenshot of disk management for us.
     
  9. bearcat

    bearcat Member

    Messages:
    50
    Maybe. But, surprising as it must be to you, I don't do this every day all day.
    I don't know what disk management is, where it is or how to post a screen shot of it.
    Seriously.
     
  10. johnb35

    johnb35 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    41,743
  11. bearcat

    bearcat Member

    Messages:
    50

    Ok, you ASSUMED I had any idea what anything I am using is NAMED or how it works.
    This is something that the computer manufacturers told me to run.
    Not something I use every day.

    The way MY brain works is this. Use it every day, remember it.
    Use it once a week, once a month, once a year, or for the first time in your life, FORGET.

    I live on MUSCLE memory. Google maps? Please.
    When I used to drive a car, I had no idea how to read a map.
    I went somewhere.
    When I went back again, the ONLY way I got there was by rembering LANDMARKS.
    "There is the Blockbuster Video sign, time to turn right"

    And yes, I spend most of my life lost and frustrated and angry.

    It will take a few hours for HD Tune Pro to run. Will post results again when finished.
     
  12. johnb35

    johnb35 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    41,743
    I"m not asking you to run hdtune. I'm asking you to open disk management and post the screenshot, The same way you did in that other post.
     
  13. bearcat

    bearcat Member

    Messages:
    50
    The problem here is you are incorrectly ASSUMING I have even the faintest hint of a clue what I am doing here.

    Speak to me as if I were a retarded child with amnesia from another planet. BECAUSE I DO NOT NOT NOT NOT NOT NOT NOT KNOW

    How how how
    to
    "open disk management"

    I spent over eight YEARS putting Windows 7 into muscle memory.
    By contast I have about three hours of experience with the shitty mess of Windows 10 which is being RAMMED down my throat by microsoft.

    Be aware of something: I am on MULTIPLE FORUMS following "help" insttuttions by about six people to fix TWO computers simultaneiously.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 13, 2019 at 7:10 PM
  14. johnb35

    johnb35 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    41,743
    You were already given instructions on how to find disk management by moderator Beers post here.

    www.computerforum.com/threads/did-i-get-ripped-off.245957/#post-2065191
     
    Darren and _Kyle_ like this.
  15. Okedokey

    Okedokey Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    9,506
    Id suggest this is simply a allocation issue of 500GB for exFAT format. A lot of people confuse the default NTFS file size of 4096 bytes with the exFAT option of 4096 kilobytes. These aren’t the same!!! 1 kilobyte = 1000 bytes (or 1024 bytes depending on context). If you were to format the HDD as NTFS, you'll get your 500GB back I think.
     
  16. Cromewell

    Cromewell Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,377
    He's said that the exFAT device is an external device, not the missing drive.
     

Share This Page