Donating money for freeware

Do you Donate money for using a freeware App?

• Yay

Votes: 3 12.5%
  • Nay

Votes: 21 87.5%

• Total voters

tlarkin

VIP Member
If its an application that saves me tons of time/money by using it I will use the paypal option and donate some money to the developer.

tlarkin

VIP Member
well i am an independent/sub contractor on the side. Any software I buy or donate money to is a tax write off for me, so everyone wins in those situations. There are a few open source applications I give to my clients to use to, and if its a business, I tell them to donate a few bucks as well. That keeps the developer motivated enough to keep their open source product up to date.

JamesBart

well i am an independent/sub contractor on the side. Any software I buy or donate money to is a tax write off for me, so everyone wins in those situations. There are a few open source applications I give to my clients to use to, and if its a business, I tell them to donate a few bucks as well. That keeps the developer motivated enough to keep their open source product up to date.

i see. never though of it like that! yeah cash is definatley a motivator! :)

tlarkin

VIP Member
There are several awesome open source apps I give out free to my mac clients, and I tell them if they use it, they should just toss a few bucks to the developer. I mean its just a few bucks, and its cheaper than going out and buying a full blown application.

Last edited:

Shane

Super Moderator
Staff member
I mean its just a few bucks, and its cheaper than going out and buying a full blow application.

True :)
I dont realy use that much freeware though...the only thing on my system which is freeware at the moment would be Google earth,Firefox and Warrock which is a free game.

the rest ive paid for like Avast pro.

tlarkin

VIP Member
True :)