"Dying" randomly/blackouts

Discussion in 'Desktop Computers' started by The VCR King, Aug 25, 2014.

  1. The VCR King

    The VCR King Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,898
    I noticed your browser is called "PaleMoon". Is that on Mac?
     
  2. johnb35

    johnb35 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,246
  3. spirit

    spirit Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,364
    Could be PSU but just so you're aware RAM can go wrong at any time and can even be bad out of the box. I've bought sticks that have gone within a few weeks.

    Tried resetting the BIOS?
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2014
  4. The VCR King

    The VCR King Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,898
    Yeah, like I know how to do that... :rolleyes:
     
  5. johnb35

    johnb35 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,246
    The easiest way to reset the bios is to remove power cord from power supply, remove cmos battery from motherboard, press and hold the power button on the case for 10 seconds then wait 10 minutes. Then reinsert battery, reconnect power cable and try booting up. Your system date and time will have changed so you will need to set that back up, along with any special settings in the bios if you changed anything.
     
  6. The VCR King

    The VCR King Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,898
    There is a button by the onboard USB labeled "CMOS." Do I press that?
     
  7. beers

    beers Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,561
    At this point you'd probably honestly be better off taking it back to Microcenter..
     
  8. spirit

    spirit Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,364
    What you do mate is go into your BIOS and then find the option to reset it or load fail-safe defaults.

    Read your motherboard manual if you're unsure!

    Honestly, how experienced are you with computer hardware? I'm getting the impression from the fact that you don't know how to reset a BIOS and that you're scared to remove a graphics card to unplug a fan that you are probably very novice so I agree with Beers and just get somebody else to do it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2014
  9. The VCR King

    The VCR King Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,898
    Sorry to bump this topic but it happened again today. No display from the GPU, no HDD activity, and no USB power. I could not use the power button to turn it off. I had to manually unplug the power supply and plug it back in and reset the machine. I don't know what is causing these strange blackouts but it is getting old really fast.

    Is there a diagnostic software I can use and try to find the root of the issue? I am beginning to suspect it is my GPU drivers since, if you read my other topics, you'd know that they are acting pretty stupid.
     
  10. ninjabubbles3

    ninjabubbles3 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,548
    Please dont ask us to solve your problems if you arent willing ro do what we say
     
  11. The VCR King

    The VCR King Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,898
    It just happened again, but this time the PC totally powered off. Boom. Dead. Nothing.

    I got it powered back on though, so I suspect my power supply has taken a crap. It's a Cougar CMX 1000-watt.

    Edit: When I powered it on there was no power going to the motherboard or drives, but when I hit the reset button to reboot the machine everything had power.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2014
  12. ninjabubbles3

    ninjabubbles3 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,548
    I'm sure that your power supply has enough wattage to power your parts, but what do you have in it again?
     
  13. The VCR King

    The VCR King Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,898
    It just happened again today. I was watching a TV stream (Nickreboot.com) and suddenly the stream began lagging then the computer instantly shut off. It just stopped. The whole system lost power. I just booted it up and it seems to be working fine again.

    Edit: Does my computer take logs where I can see why it keeps dying or could it not take logs because it just loses power like *that*?
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2015
  14. beers

    beers Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,561
    I'd open Afterburner or something and monitor temps. Maybe your 2D clocks are getting stuck in 3D mode or similar (I've had that happen with my 290, 90C on desktop lol).

    Did you ever replace your suspect PSU, or should it still be considered a potential culprit?
     
  15. Okedokey

    Okedokey Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    9,507
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2015
  16. Punk

    Punk Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    9,611
    There is going to be a time when you'll have to do something you've never done before... Otherwise you won't get anywhere.

    If you're not willing to run at least memtest86 or even have the initiative to get it from their official website if you don't like softpedia then there is absolutely nothing we can do to help you.

    You keeping us to date with your computer failing is useless unless you try what we told you.
     
  17. The VCR King

    The VCR King Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,898
    Ive been using Speccy to monitor my temps, and my idle temps are:
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Geoff

    Geoff VIP Member

    Messages:
    37,673
    What did Memtest show when you ran it?
     
  19. Punk

    Punk Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    9,611
    I'm going to be nice and show you a tutorial on how to run memtest86:

    [ut]K5JuiUxATOI[/ut]
     
  20. The VCR King

    The VCR King Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,898
    Ram passed the test. I think it is a power supply issue.
     

Share This Page