error appears in bios...

tenox

banned
Hi !

I have build a new pc, and are now ready to set up bios and windows wich i have never done before, and therefore i met some problems on the road

When i have installed the cd-rom and hdd , i pressed save and exit, and inserted the windows professional cd. Then i get this message :

"Disk Boot failure, insert system disk and press enter."

I would be extremly greatfull if anyone could help me !!

Thanx

Steffen

apj101

VIP Member
1. Are you sure that the cd you have is good, is it a backed up copy or is it original
2. What do you mean when you say
When i have installed the cd-rom and hdd ,

3. Have you changed the order of boot devices in bios to ensure that it is booting from cd first

4. Is there a floopy disk in the drive?

tenox

banned
apj101 said:
1. Are you sure that the cd you have is good, is it a backed up copy or is it original
2. What do you mean when you say

3. Have you changed the order of boot devices in bios to ensure that it is booting from cd first

4. Is there a floopy disk in the drive?

Thanx for your attention :)

1. I have used this cd many times, and have never had any problems with it, but its not an original cd.

2. I mean searched through all the devices.

3. I dont know exactly what you mean here ,sorry
I have only used a guide to this, maybe its bad.

4. I do not have a floppy disk station

Do i need another cd except from the windows xp cd ??

riddick

Sounds to me like you need to change the boot order and make sure that the CD boots before the HD.

apj101

VIP Member
I mean searched through all the devices.

maybe its just me but i'm confused at what you mean again, how did you search through the devices if you haven't installed an os

3. I dont know exactly what you mean here ,sorry
I have only used a guide to this, maybe its bad.
i dont think this will solveyour problem but its worth a go. Look through bios for the boot order of your devices. use the + and - keys to change the order.