Firewall (software) or Router ??

SpetsnaZ

I have a delema: Should I get a Firewall like McAfee, Norton or should I get a ROUTER instead. I've been told that the router is as good or even better than an Firewall application. And since its not software it will not take up memory and therefore not slow up the PC..

Need answers!!

Praetor

Administrator
Staff member
Get both. A hardware router (short of spending $400+ on a IDS system) isnt quite the same thing :)

SpetsnaZ

You again !!!

I have been told about the ROUTER beeing a great firewall in itself....but I just started instructing myself in computer knowledge...I'm a noob at this but learning day by day.

Praetor

Administrator
Staff member
1. The thread was moved to Internet Discussion from Desktop Computers

2. Routers have a basic firewall in them. Depending on how much marketing has got to the firewall, the definition of "firewall" (as far as routers go) might just mean "NAT" (network address translation) which is what the function of a router is: to make a private local network within itself and provide that network with access to the internet or another network

3. The primary purpose of a router (not them fancy IDS systems) is to "split high speed internet" amoungst different people. Any protection offered is coincidental, passive and incidental

4. A software firewall is designed to actively protect the system it's installed on from various forms of malicious activity. A router will let you goto WebsiteA but the software firewall will (attempt to) stop the malicious activity launched by that website

SpetsnaZ

Praetor said:
Any protection offered is coincidental, passive and incidental

Is it easy for a hacker to pass the ROUTER and gain acces to the PC?